Corsair Community

TWINXP1024-3200C2 OC Help

wrecked_mind

I have just bought a pair of Corsairs XPERT memory modules (512MB each).

Im new to overclocking, yet i still want to get the optimal performance out of my system. Theres where memory overclocking comes in, Ive read a lot but I can't really figure what settings would be good for me and my Mobo.

I'd like to increase the MHz of the DDR modules, and I understand this is only possible through increasing the FSB which also affect the CPU speed.

I currently run on timings: 2-3-3-6 with agressive timing enabled and at 2,75V. I read in this forum that I have to higher the timing if I want to increase the FSB.

Can anyone give me some help here?

I'd like to increase the MHz of the DDR modules, and I understand this is only possible through increasing the FSB which also affect the CPU speed.

Not really true but this is the most stable way.

The CPU's FSB should be equal to the RAM's Frequency.

I currently run on timings: 2-3-3-6 with agressive timing enabled and at 2,75V. I read in this forum that I have to higher the timing if I want to increase the FSB.

Can anyone give me some help here?

This is something that you will have to experiment with.

For example; if you wanted to up the frequency to 210MHz (420Mhz)

you would probably set the timings to 3-3-3-6 or 3-3-3-8.

More realaxed timings like 3-4-4-8 may give you more headroom.

A Dimm voltage of 2.8 may help also.

So, what other ways are there. If I don't want to increase the FSB?

I've tried alot, but all I get is less performance. From what I've heard the MSI K8N NEO 2 Motherboard is bad at overclocking since the performance is worse than original when trying to tweak the settings in BIOS.

I tried lowering the RAM speed to 166MHz timings 3-4-4-8 2,8V, HT Freq to 3x, CPU mult. 9x FSB 250MHz and Vcore 1,5V.

There was no performance increase.

So it would be highly appreciated if there was any RAM OC Utility since FSB change simply wont do it.