Corsair Community

xp 2500+ twinx512-3200c2pt unstable

xdkx

ok, i'm a bit new at overclocking asus a7n8x deluxe athlon xp 2500+ w/ vantec aeroflow and arctic silver ceramique corsair twinx512-3200c2pt thermaltake 420W psu when i overclock my cpu at 10x200 and have the ram at 6-3-3-2 at 200mhz, both at stock voltage, prime95 brings up errors. suggestions? and if i run memtest, what cpu speeds and ram timings, voltage, etc. should i use? thanks =)

use bios 1004 for maximum stability and OC power (flash with dos utility). cpu interface: aggressive (command rate 1T). disable all spread spectrums. set to 11x200 (3200+). the board overvolts by .50, so you will most probly not need to increase your core. you are at stock 1.7v (1.65 option). use vdimm 2.6. timings from bottom to top on advanced chipset page: cl2T, 2-3-6. test with prime95 to ensure stability: [url]http://lettuce.edsc.ulst.ac.uk/gimps/p95v235.exe[/url] options->cpu, set ram to half or 1/3 of your physical ram. options->torture test and memtest: [url]http://www.memtest86.com/[/url] use mbm5 to monitor your temps: [url]http://mbm.livewiredev.com/[/url] keep an eye on your +12v rail and +5v rail. if you keep it under 60c you should be ok. i personally use a max zone of 55c. check my sig for config, it may help you if you decide to go further on your OC run.

well, i flashed BIOS 1004 and set the cpu to 11x200 w/ 1.65v, ram to 2-2-3-6 at 200mhz 2.6v, disabled all spread spectrums. basically everything you suggested. when i ran prime95, however, i got this: ERROR: ILLEGAL SUMOUT Possible hardware failure, consult readme.txt file, restarting test. ERROR: ILLEGAL SUMOUT Possible hardware failure, consult readme.txt file, restarting test. ERROR: ILLEGAL SUMOUT Possible hardware failure, consult readme.txt file, restarting test. ERROR: ILLEGAL SUMOUT Possible hardware failure, consult readme.txt file, restarting test. and on and on and on.. suggestions? thanks pershoot