Corsair Community

How to run TWINX1024-4400C25 at DDR550 ?

Hi guys.

Im relatively new to A64 overclocking so if you could please excuse my noobiness as im used to the easier overclocking techniques of the XP processors :D.

Anyways, I have just splashed out $320 on a 1 gig kit of Corsair PC 4400 DDR 550 RAM and am having difficulty in overclocking my current system for it to run at DDR

My current PC specs are as follows:

- Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe with BIOS 1011

- AMD 64 3000+ Winchester S939

- Corsair TWINX1024-4400C25 1 gig DDR 550

- ThermalTake Big Typhoon CPU Cooler

- Swiftech MCX-159R Northbridge Cooler

- Enermax 420W Noisetaker PSU

- Leadtek Winfast PCX 6600 GT Extreme

- Zalman VF-700 Cu VGA Cooler

- Western Digital 200 GB SATA HDD

- Pioneer 109 BK

- Liteon 52x32x52 CD-RW

- 2 x 120 mm fans and 1 x 80 mm fan

- Windows XP with SP2 Corp Edition.

Considering that I have sufficient cooling for all components, I am not very worried about heat problems.

Anyways onto the overclocking.

I first set the HTT multiplier to 3x and turn off Cool 'n Quiet. I left the Max Memclock settings in the DRAM Configuration menu to AUTO.

Then I proceeded to the JumperFree Configuration menu. From here i change the Overclock Profile to Manual. From here on in I get REALLY confused lol.

I change the CPU frequency to 275 MHz as that is what i thought DDR550 is. I keep the multiplier at 9x and bump the DDR Voltage to 2.7 Volts and the CPU Voltage to

1.450 Volts. I also set the PCI lock to 33.33 MHZ.

Now I boot up. I was able to successfully boot up with the RAM modules in 128 Bit dual channel mode but it says im running the RAM at DDR266 :( Regardless I go into

Windows and look up CPU-Z for answers and it shows me that:

Core Speed: 2477.9 MHz

Multiplier: x 9.0

HTT: 275.3

Thats all good. Now i go to the Memory Tab and I freak out! lol

Channels#: Dual

Frequency: 177.0 MHz

FSB:DRAM: CPU/14

CAS# Latency: 2.5 clocks

RAS# to CAS# Delay: 3 clocks