Corsair Community

Not Happy with XT Leak Tester

Tex_Recoil

Hello all, 

I did forum and google search looking for Good and Bad Review on the XT Leak Tester and Instructions that were better than what came with the device. I had No luck, finding any such Information and so Im here posting. Plus no place to give a bad review or feed back. I bought my,  XT Leak Tester straight from Corsair.com site . Before anyone gets mad about this post, Im a corsair product user of over of 15+ years and I'm a decent mechanic with set's of gauges to pressure test compression on vehicle motors, sets of gauges to recharge vehicle ac units as well. So when I got this tiny little tester (Xt Leak Tester) I was very disappointed that it didnt seem to be no better than a cheap tire pump for RC Cars. I dont know if it was just the product I recieved but my tester came loose, gauge head was loose. The coupler for the hose attachment unscrewed (dont know if thats ment to be that way or not.) Anyways after reading the few lines of instructions and realizing that those insturction lacked any real knowledge or help. I decide to try and get this thing working, with out going into everything I did.  I gave up on the POS and went back to leak testing the old way with liquid and paper towels. I couldnt get the tester to hold any pressure at all even with using teflon tape on connection area.  I dont know if Corsair does any product/ customer hands on review of items that they put the company name on. The XT Leak Tester needs to be fixed. My Two Cents. Hope Someone reads this and fix it.

I looked up the "Hydro X Series XT Pressure Leak Tester Tool Kit" and it appears to be inspired by the "Aquacomputer Dr. Drop Pressure Tester" (and others) and suffers from the same issues that stopped me using my "Dr. Drop" unit. You rely on the pump seal itself not leaking and therefore cannot be relied upon for testing loop integrity.