Corsair Community

Which fan hubs do I need for new build?

Hi all,

I'm starting a new build in a week or two (first one in over 10 years), and first one using RGB.  I'm new to the various Corsair fan controllers/etc and trying to make sure I have everything I need.  If this question has already been answered, if anyone could link it, I'd greatly appreciate it.  I'm planning to end up with 8 fans.   Here's my setup:

• Corsair 4000d Airflow case
  • Corsair h150i elite capellix cooler and I will use the 3 ML fans it comes with.  The cooler comes with iCUE Commander CORE.
  • Corsair DDR5 5200 Dominator Platinum 2x32gb memory
  • 5x Corsair QL120mm (bought these in a 3pack that included the Lighting Node Core, and 2x individual QL120s).

The ML120s will be mounted in the front of the case pushing air through the radiator, and I'll have 3 QL120s exhausting out the top/rear.  I'm considering adding 2 QL120s to pull through the radiator to match the rest of the interior case fans (but won't if mixing the push/pull fan types could cause noise/performance issues, and if so, I'll eventually track down 2 more of the same model ML120s that the cooler uses).

Is the iCUE Commander CORE that came with the cooler and the Lighting Node Core that came with the 3 pack of QL120s all I'll need to setup my iCUE RBG?  Or do I need to purchase another hub/controller?  Is there a guide somewhere on how I'd setup the connections?  I recall reading somewhere not to mix the QLs and MLs on a single controller and trying to avoid a lengthy troubleshooting process once I start building.

Thanks in advance for any help.