Corsair Community

ASUS P4P800 Deluxe VS1GBKIT400 Problem

rramesh

Hi,

I am no MB hacker or some one lives tweaking PCs. But I am a HW designer and therefore, I kind of know how things work (Although a little less about SDRAM/DDR). I bought VS1GBKIT400 Corsair memory and have been having problem getting it to work with my P4P800 Deluxe mobo with 420W Antec truepower powersupply with stock BIOS. Here is a copy of the message I sent to ramguy@corsair.com looking for support before I learnt about the existance of this forum

Hi,

I purchased 1GB VS1GBKIT400 - Retail package of value ram based on the recommendation of compatibility from you (Corsair website/ramguy recommendation for compatibility) for my ASUS P4P800 Deluxe MB. However, installing the memory made the system not POST at all. No beep no prompt - nothing. However the system works (and has been working) flawlessly with my previous XXXXXX 512MB DDR333 DIMM. Intially I thought that it is just my installation error and tried several different things to get the system working with Corsair memory. However, I cannot get the DIMMS to work as expected. Here is what I did and found out. Please help me resolve this problem.

1. The system has been working flawlessly with a 512MB DDR333 memory from XXXXXX until I bought this memory.

2. I removed the XXXXXX 512MB and installed VS1GBKIT400 DIMMS and the system would not POST or beep. It is dead.

3. I installed one module from VS1GBKIT400 at a time and at all four slots and the results are unchanged. There is no POST not prompt and no beep. The computer appears dead. I cleaned the DIMM slots suspecting dust, but no change in the result. The system would not POST with Corsair memory.

4. I repeatedly swapped the memory module from VS1GBKIT400 with XXXXXX DDR333 memory and repeatedly the system would boot with XXXXXX DIMM but not with VS1GBKIT400 DIMM. All of the above testing are with stock BIOS setting of the MB.