Corsair Community

Poor Documentation Costs Sales!

I am an instructional designer, game designer, and documentation expert of 40 years experience. IMHO, it is not that the iCUE software is complicated. It is simply some of the worst software documentation I have ever seen in a retail product. It is TERRIBLE!  It fails to even consider the first time user and launches off on all kinds of pointless "shiny object" lighting effects. I bought a Dark Core RGB Pro mouse. I wanted precision in my gaming and vector graphics. I was told at Best Buy that I can program sensitivity, button functionality, and so forth. There is not even a line drawing that shows the mouse with call-outs of the nomenclature for the eight "programmable" buttons on the device. The tutorial videos are poor examples of instructional programming and miss the obvious basics. Here is a hint Corsair: If you write technical/instructional documentation that the first-time user can understand, those who are journeymen users and experts will sail through the whole schmeer easily. Otherwise, you have an overworked tech support staff saying the same things to customers day-after-day and frustrated customers who feel ripped-off! There is literally no paper documentation for the user. There is a multi-fold paper outlining the warranty. And there is a "Safety and Compliance Information" folder in FOURTEEN languages. Of 24 panels in the folder, exactly TWO are in English. And who says Corsair has no sense of humor? In one of the panels, a tiny, microscopic photo (with four nano diagrams!) explains how to remove the battery by removing four tiny screws, with an admonishment to recycle used rechargeable batteries. OK... But then, two inches away, under "Battery Safety Guidelines," we are informed that the product has a "non-user serviceable...battery." Does that mean that the battery must only be serviced by the user, or could it mean that non-owners are prohibited from servicing said battery? Who can tell? But in t