Corsair Community

5000x build frustration..

Really wished that I had known that I wouldn't be able to do a push/pull config in the top of this case before I purchased it. This is my first build since 2018 and I was extremely excited about it. I picked up a H150i LCD, and extra Commander XT, 3 extra ML RGB Elite fans for the rad, 6 QL fans, and setup the QL fans in the front and side panels. I did all the cable management for the QL fans and got it looking so clean... and then went to setup the rad and ML fans push pull in the top simply to realize it's completely impossible! I even have flexible individually sleeved cables, but there's just no way a push/pull setup will work in the top of this case,and im frustrated that it's even advertised as such on the Corsair site and in videos on YouTube. It's a tight squeeze with a single row of fans, let alone two. There's just not enough clearance for the CPU power headers, or the heatsinks on my Hero Xiii Apex. 

Now I'm very torn on what to do. Aesthetically, I was really looking forward to the the QL fans setup in front and the lighting patterns Id make in iCue. But now I may have to do the push/pull setup in the front.. Which would require me to remove the front QL fans, and the rad/fans would be blocking most of the side mounted QL fans. What a bummer.. Kinda wishing I could have sprung for the 7000x case instead...but I was already over-budget. 

Another factor that I hadn't considered at the time is my gpu. Recently upgraded from a 2070 to a 3080ti. Im seeing people here in the forums mentioning higher cpu temps with top mount rad setups because of all the additional heat the 3k series gpus dump into the case... So maybe Id be better off with the less-pleasing-to-the-eye front rad mounting with the ML fans...