Corsair Community

bad twin3200xlpt module?

hey guys!

i am a first time builder but after reading a lot of posts i think i am up to speed.

I just got my new rig and after a few days of BSOD hell, I think i have some of the kinks worked out. however, one of my 512 modules will not pass memtest with 2.2.2.5 It gives thousands of errors in test 5. The board defaults to 2.3.2.5 and that fails too. I had to set it to 2.3.3.5 to get the one module to pass alone. it still wont work in 2.3.3.5 with both modules (fails in test 8). the other module passed at 2.2.2.5 for a couple of hours, and has not given any bsods for a while. I tried bumping vdimm up to 2.8 to see if that changed anything, but it didnt. I get bsod's at random times when the bad module is installed. Tried switching them around. flashed bios. what next? do i have to send in both modules for rma?

thx,

Russ

My Box:

Athlon64 3200+ venice

DFI lanparty sli-dr (3/10 alpha bios)

twin3200xlpt 512's

ocz modstream 520w psu

chaintech 6600gt

wd raptor

• Corsair Employees

Please make sure you have the latest BIOS installed for your MB (download the Beta version) and load optimized defaults settings, and try the following BIOS settings;

TwinX512 or Twinx1024-3200XL

Genie BIOS/DRAM Configuration

DRAM Frequency Set: 2:1 or 400MHz or 200 (if option are 133/166/200)

Command per Clock: Enabled

SDRAM CAS Latency: 2T

SDRAM RAS to CAS Delay (tRCD): 2T

SDRAM Row Precharge (tRP): 2T

SDRAM Active to Precharge Delay (tRAS): 5T

And leave the rest at AUTO setting

Genie BIOS

FSB BUS Frequency: 200

LDT/FSB Frequency ratio: 5X

LDT Bus Transfer Width: 16 16

CPU/FSB Frequency ratio: Auto

PCI Ex: 100

K8 cool N’ quiet: Disable

CPU VID Start Up Value: Startup

CPU VID Control: Auto

CPU VID Special Control: Auto

Chipset Voltage Control: 1.6

DRAM Voltage Control: 2.8

PC Health Status: Please make sure that all temp is at 25C

All other settings are motherboards defaults