Corsair Community

Rattling noise on PC start...H150i/PSU?

Hey all,

So far the last few weeks, when I start up my computer, I get this loud rattling noise coming from somewhere within, that goes away after the computer is running (generally 2-4 minutes).

I've tried narrowing it down each time it happens, and have ruled out it being any of the fans within the computer (by stopping each fan, the rattling continued), I've also made sure it wasn't the GPU fans (the rattling persisted even when the GPU fans hadn't started up yet).

I've checked to make sure there no stray wire or cables clipping any fan blades also, so I've narrowed it down to two options.

1 - The H150i AIO Cooler, Now, I'm not an expert, and I thought the only moving parts on this were the fans installed onto the radiator, which I've checked and checked again. However, could it be the pump? Is there something in there that could rattle?

2 - The PSU, which is a CORSAIR RM850x Modular ATX PSU - 850 , Now I know this has a fan in it, but it's the one thing I'm reluctant to take out and check as that would mean stripping the computer down to get to it....is there any good ways to check or test without resorting to that?

Both of the above were purchased in July 2020 and used for around 2 months before being placed in storage for a year (a dry warm place!), and then used again for around 4 months before this rattling started occurring, so the PSU and AIO have only really been used for 6 months if that.....surely one of them can't be having issues already, right?

Thanks for your help!

Dale

some years ago i had a similar issue.  a rattle that was stopping after some power on time.

so i didn't pay much attention to it.   one day the rattling was not stopping anymore.

i realized it was my psu fan (other famous brand, not corsair).  Just to be sure i put my finger through the fan protection

to stop the fan for a second (it doesn't hurt) and stopping the fan also the rattle was stopping.