Corsair Community

Hello everyone,

Recently I started working on a fun, personal project to occupy my time by building my first PC. I've decided that this may be a relaxing way to "unwind" from my work, as I'm a Network Engineer and this seemed a bit less of a mental task and more physical one. That said, I've come to a sudden obstacle.

I currently have a Corsair 5000D Airflow tower and saw on Corsair's website/tower review videos that it is possible to have up to 13 fans installed; 3x 120mm front, 3x 120mm side, 6x 120mm AIO CPU cooler push/pull configuration, and 1x 120mm rear). Call it overkill, but I am intrigued and would like to test this.

The obstacle: wiring - HOW? Additionally, what other parts are needed, if necessary?

I currently have a Commander Pro, a Commander CORE (included with the AIO), and 2x RGB lighting hubs (included with each 3pk of RGB fans), as well as the pre-installed PWM on the rear/backside of the Airflow 5000D.

I have searched for hours trying to find some sort of video explanation or guide, but the only mention that I have located seems to require splitters. Is there no other way to make this work without the use of additional splitters? At the end of this all, ideally, I would prefer that the iCUE lighting function works with all the fan as well.

I'm not too concerned with costs of additional equipment if needed, I just need to know what is necessary and how to do so.

Just for safe measure, these are my current specs:

CPU: AMD Ryzen 9 5950x 16-core

CPU Cooler: Corsair iCUE H150i Elite Capellix 

Motherboard: Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero ATX M4

Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum RGB 128GB (4x32gb) DDR4-3200 CL16

Storage: Corsair MP600 PRO XT Gen4 PCIe NVMe M.2 SSD 1TB

GPU: EVGA GeForce RTX 3080 Ti 12GB FTW3 Ultra Gaming LE iCX3

Tower: Corsair 5000D Ariflow ATX Mid

PSU: Corsair AXi 1600w 80+ Titanium Certified Fully Modular ATX

Fans: 13x Corsair iCUE QL120mm