Corsair Community

how much performance does an XD5 pump give

DrKillo

Hi all.

I've been reading the corsair forums for a long time, but this is the first time I've written, so excuse my English.

I am  creating the pc of my dreams (the fourth since I started in this) and despite having solved many of my doubts I still have some, mainly related to liquid cooling since it is my first time.

I still do not have all the components but in principle they would be:

Obsidian 1000d

Gigabyte x570 Master + WB EK PCH

R9 5950X + WB EK Momentum

Corsair Dominator Platinium 3200CL16 4x32

RTX3090 FE + EK Quantum Vector se

2 Corsair MP600PRO HydroX

2 rad Ek XE480 on P&P with QL120

Initially I wanted a complete Corsair system to manage RGB, fans and profiles with a single software, but researching I discovered the CPU block that included the VRMs and saw performance benchmarks between the corsair GPU blocks and the EKs for the FE.

Later I discovered the cables on eBay that facilitate the implementation of RGB with the icue system, so perfect on that side.

However, my big question comes regarding the performance of the water pumps. I've read a lot about the corsair XD5s being pretty quiet and haven't seen anyone complain, but I'm not sure it's powerful enough, also considering that if I get a chance to get a second 3090, maybe include one or two more radiators, also depending on whether one day I find the top tray of 2x4 120 fans… or do you think with a 420 radiator would be enough?

Do you think that a single XD5 pump is enough or would it be better to 2 in series or 2 separate loops or better another model from another manufacturer, taking into account that I seek silence as much as possible?

Thanks in advance

The XD5 is plenty to handle that.

There are plenty of folks with a single XD5, 4 radiators and blocks. Not an issue. You may need to increase the RPM a bit but it'll handle it.