Corsair Community

My Corsair Hydro Series H80i V2 likes to throttle

For ~three years, I don't recall this ever being an issue.  It's important to note that for all this time, I have been running Folding@Home since 9/2016.  In the last ~18 months, it's been throttling wildly.  HWiNFO64 V7.06-4500 doesn't show any wild temp fluctuations on the CPU or GPU.  Nothing, at least, that would warrant immediate RPM changes in the radiators stock dual fans.  Yet, that's what they do.

In this PC, I'm running a 2080Super, if that helps.  If I stop the folding, the radiator fans settle down, AND don't throttle any.  When I enable folding again, the rad fans usually steadily increase, sometimes not, like, right now where the room temp is 78F.  That's fine; it's when the rad fans start to fluctuate frequently that irritates me..  BTW, the rad fans are tame when at ~750rpm.  It's when they jump to 950rpm that gets to me.

My case has 5 140mm(3 intake, 2 top exhaust) Noctua fans that all run off of a 4-ch fan controller.  All of these fans run at whatever speed I set them to, and do NOT change speed w/o my input. 

Does anyone have some advice?   Does anyone need more info?

Thanks for reading

0727211027b.jpg

(Windows Key + Shift + S) == Pretty Screen Shot.

As for your cooler's behavior, the screen doesn't tell us anything that we need to know, in particular the coolant temperature in the cooler. You don't mention which cooler you have but it sounds like it's an H100i V2 or an H115i and it's hitting 40C coolant temperature.

2 hours ago, DevBiker said:

As for your cooler's behavior, the screen doesn't tell us anything that we need to know, in particular the coolant temperature in the cooler. You don't mention which cooler you have but it sounds like it's an H100i V2 or an H115i and it's hitting 40C coolant temperature.