Corsair Community

Choose a UPS for the Corsair RMx PSU

DoctorIkari

Hello friends!

I recently upgraded my computer for work. Installed the Corsair RMx 850W PSU.

In our area, the electricity is periodically turned off, so a UPS was required.I have no experience in selecting a UPS, the store manager advised me to take an APC Back-UPS 850VA (~520W) UPS.

After connecting the computer, I decided to test the UPS. I turn off the power, and... the computer shuts down. In the APC Windows utility, the total power during operation is shown as 40-100 watts.

Googling suggested that my Corsair RMx 850 PSU has an aPFC. Therefore, the UPS must be selected very carefully.

Please tell me which UPS is suitable in my case?

Thank you very much!

A UPS is not all that they are cracked up to be. Long ago they were used to keep servers running but batteries wear out fast adding to the cost.

850VA will allow you to shutdown your rig more orderly

• Corsair Employee
Hello friends!

I recently upgraded my computer for work. Installed the Corsair RMx 850W PSU.

In our area, the electricity is periodically turned off, so a UPS was required.I have no experience in selecting a UPS, the store manager advised me to take an APC Back-UPS 850VA (~520W) UPS.

After connecting the computer, I decided to test the UPS. I turn off the power, and... the computer shuts down. In the APC Windows utility, the total power during operation is shown as 40-100 watts.

Googling suggested that my Corsair RMx 850 PSU has an aPFC. Therefore, the UPS must be selected very carefully.

Please tell me which UPS is suitable in my case?

Thank you very much!

Nah. An RMx should work fine with a cheaper standby UPS.

Have you tried the "pull the plug while something is on the UPS" test with any other hardware, or just the PC?

• Corsair Employee
Yes, I tested my old PC. Monitor works too...

Weird.