Corsair Community

Thank you Corsair | Original Void review after 6 years

KangarooMike

Short intro [tldr]

Very good. Some bad wear items. 87/100

This is an in-depth review of the Original Corsair Voids after 6 years of abuse

Background on my headset

Flashback to 14 year old me. I had just gone through my 3rd pair of 3.5mm jack headphones due to connector failure. So I made the big financial decision at the time to buy a decent USB headset. At the time there was only one real option for me. The Corsair Void USB 7.1. I bought my headset in late 2015 or early 2016 from a South African online tech store. From that day onwards I have used my headset almost everyday since.

The majority of use was for gaming and content consumption but I was involved in my schools technical department where I was a sound engineer. Some of the work that I did involved mixing tracks in a quiet room or live previews in a loud auditorium where I had to listen to tracks prior to queuing them up to be played. Although the voids are not the loudest headset in the world they were loud enough for me to hear the preview clip through hearing protection with deafening music pounding in the auditorium.

The Degradation

The Cable

After about 4 years the cable near the top (near the headset) started to break. Nothing that a bit of electrical tape can't fix. A braded cabled would have extended the life of the cable. Making the cable removable like in the wireless headsets, but because this is a "budget" headset it would have increased the cost of the product so I understand why it wasn't done that way.

R4TjqqM.jpg

The Earcups