Corsair Community

H150i Elite Capellix Push/Pull

I'm new to using an AIO (air cooled builds up until now) but wanting to keep a 5900x relatively cool on long render sessions. I've had a look in to a push/pull config and the recommendations are to try to keep the fans matched. Ok so stick with ML120 Pro RGB but they don't have the same max RPM so could this cause an issue with the AIO supplied ML120s?

Only time I could see this being an issue is if the AIO went to full fan could the slower extra ML120s cause a problem?

Again new to all this side of things and just want to make sure I've got everything worked out before pulling the trigger on the extra fans.

The Commander Core makes this a bit more complex because it uses PWM % as the control factor for the programmable curves vs RPM on the Commander Pro which would allow you to side-step the issue. One workaround on the Commander Core is to run two different fan profiles for each side of the radiator -- one for the 1600 rpm max ML120-RGB and one for the 2400 ML-Elite. You would physically check RPM matching at various PWM % intervals, but that fan is pretty linear and you can do the mathematical equivalent. There is really nothing to be gained by going past 1600 rpm on a 30mm radiator in push pull aside from noise, so capping the ML-Elite set at 1600 (75%) would prevent that.

The trickier bit is setting this up. You could burn all 6 PWM ports on the Com Core to handle these 6 fans. That then leaves the rest of the case to fend for itself. Another option would be to run PWM repeaters to offload the radiator fan current to that device while using 1 PWM header for control. However, because of the difference in max RPM you likely need 2 PWM hubs, one for each side. They are relatively inexpensive and 2 of them is cheaper than buying another full fledged fan controller, although it does add some to the bulk of gear to be stashed.