Corsair Community

Need advice from the experts on fans

gonca

I am planning a new build

CPU will probably be 3970x and the GPU 3070

Plan on cooling with Hydro X custom loop

2 360mm rads with 6 fans

I am a newbie to custom loops so I have to ask the question that has been asked 1000 times, but not for the hardware I plan on using.

I like the looks of the LL120 white, but will they be enough or should I go with ML120 Pro or PRO/RGB

Will the fan choice make that much difference with the hardware I mentioned

Thank you for any advice/opinion

• Corsair Employees

Hi gonca,

It really depends on how you want to define "enough"

Any of our fans will work on such a system, although you would get slightly better temps with an ML or SP fan - at the cost of some better lighting.

As for the case, you'll generally see slightly better temps in an Airflow case - but the RGB model will also function adequately.

I appreciate that my answer wasn't especially definitive - but this is very much a case of which trade-offs you are willing to make with regards to performance/aesthetics.

~Mordred

• Confused 1

on a 5000D Airflow anything goes. it's a great performer when it comes to cooling.

the non airflow (and X) are a bit below but still fairly good (check the GN review of the cases, it may help).

with good airflow, the difference between all rounder fans or static pressure optimized fans at the same speed is only a few degrees. You'll mostly enjoy a quieter system with good static pressure fans since you wont have to run them as hard for the same cooling.

• Confused 1

Generally speaking, the more radiator "fan space" you have, the less the fan choice matters. So if you have triple 360mm radiators with 9x120 fans, the surface area of the radiators are doing all the work and the fan becomes less important. In contrast, fan choice is quite important on a single panel 120mm cooler trying manage something like a hybrid GPU.