Corsair Community

CPU fan header

MADRGB

First time building a water loop. Using hydro X components for it.

Im a noob concerning this but not to when it comes to building air cooled PC´s.

So, and forgive the noobness, what the heck do I plug into the cpu fan header to avoid bios warning on boots? Radiator fans?

According to Corsairs instruction the 4 pin pwm on the pump has to go into the Cpro. So I assume thats not an option.

Secondary question. Im running gpu and cpu block. Im not sure whether to go for 2 x 360mm slim radiators or a beefy 480mm 54mm radiator. Would I even notice any difference? Im leaning to the latter for a cleaner build.

Edited by MADRGB

one 54mm rad doesn't equal two 25mm ones :)

There's diminishing return to using very thick rads since the air is gradually heated as it travels through the radiator. The exhaust side of the fins will be warmer than the intake side. Of course one would have to test it to get numbers but i believe running two 360mm will get you way better thermals.

Regarding the CPU fan alarms, you can disable it in BIOS. Since the motherboard doesn't manage fans, it's not needed at all. You'll still get temperature warning beeps if anything goes wrong.

Specifically for Asus, the CPU fan warning system is quietly tucked away in the Advanced BIOS -> Monitor column. Scroll down about 15 lines until you see the CPU Fan header speed. Hit enter and it will present an "ignore" option. The boot warning is now disabled. the only reason to have this engaged is if your cooling functionality is actually tied to a signal or device on that header. You will have plenty of other ways to detect this and with water its not the same as someone who booted up without an air cooler in place.