Corsair Community

2X - Commander Core's with 10X iCUE QL120 RGB Fan Setup HELP!

Hello Everyone,

I am new to the forum. I am also new to PC building in general and have learned quickly I have chosen the worst time in history to build a PC due to everything going up in price and parts being hard to find. I have been doing a lot of research and have looked at a lot of the setups posted on this forum however I haven’t found quite what I’m thinking about doing. The components I plan on running are as follows:

CASE: Corsair 5000D Airflow (Black)

MOTHERBOARD: ASUS AMD AM4 ROG Strix X-570E

CPU: Ryzen 5600x

GPU: ASUS ROG Strix GeForce RTX 3070 (Black)

MEMORY: Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 3600

HARD DRIVE: Corsair Force MP600 M.2 2280 1TB (2X)

POWER SUPPLY: Corsair RM850x Full Modular (80 GOLD PLUS)

CPU COOLER: Corsair iCUE H150i Elite Capellix CPU Cooler (Black)

CASE FANS: Corsair iCUE QL120 RGB Fans (Black) (10 Fans)

(3 Packs of 3 + 1)

I plan on setting up 3X – QL120 fans in front and 3X – QL120 on the side as INTAKE. I plan to remove and hopefully re-sell the 3X – ML120 fans that come included with Corsair H150i CPU cooler. I will then install 3X – QL120 fans on the H150i CPU cooler and attach it to the top of the case as EXHAUST. I will than install the final 1X – QL120 fan to the rear of the case as EXHAUST. This will give me 6X – intake and 4X – exhaust.

My question is about wiring all this up. My plan is to remove the included Carbide 6-port PWM repeater. I then want to use the Commander Core included with the H150i CPU Cooler. This will run the 4X – exhaust fans and the pump. I then want to purchase a second Commander Core and run all 6X – intake fans. I think this will be the cleanest set up.

1. But will it work?

2. Can I run two Commander Core’s together without any other lighting cores or Commander Pros?