Corsair Community

Need suggestions for first loop

adrian5683

Hi all, complete watercooling noob here working on my first loop. I'm building in the Lian-Li O11D Mini and am using two XD3 pumps, pic attached. My first choice would be separate loops for CPU and GPU. However, is it possible to link the XD3 pumps, connecting the bottom (temp sensor) port of one to the top (fill port) of the other? If so, would there be any benefits or just a redundancy thing? Or is it just a terrible idea altogether?

Components:

ROG Strix Z270i Mini-ITX

i7-6700K CPU

ROG Strix RTX 3060 Ti

Corsair XR5 360mm x2

1611457610013765689394856830869.thumb.jpg.1f4f83be681f4ceacc30aa2f2627a75d.jpg

Edited by adrian5683

OK, you have parts so we are somewhat past theoretical.

Combined vs Separate loops - Separate loops can be useful where you have either massive amounts of space or too much distance/components for one single pump. The other possible use is when you have one component that has a very high wattage (GPU) where you do not overly care about the exact temperature and then a lower watt device (CPU) that is temperature critical. Someone running a 3090 who does not care if the GPU temp is 45 vs 50C combined with a 3700X AMD chip that is overclocked as high as it can go and sitting on the CPU temp limit. Since they share the same baseline temperature (coolant temp), the CPU temp is adversely affected by the GPUs heat in the pool. This is more important when one component is close to the user's temperature limit or goal for that device.