Corsair Community

How to connect 10 ML fans on 1 CoPro

Only a Noob

Hey guys I am a Noob,

Gonna build my first system and plan to custom water cool it.

Anyway i ordered the individual components and am very excited for them to arrive.

So, I also ordered 4 ML140 pro fans NON-Rgb (exhaust) and 6 ML120 pro fans NON-Rgb (intake), for the simple reason of their performance capabilities over the rgb versions which lost alotta performance.

The question is how do i connect these fans on one Commander Pro that I also ordered. Also, I have been researching a lot on pwm y splitters but am still confused because the splitters end in 1x3 and 1x4 male meaning one fan header cannot control pwm of both ML fans on that splitter because one split is 3 pin.

How does this even work and any suggestions for good splitter cables that can handle 2 ML fans on full capacity on one CO Pro fan header?

the splitters on the fan ends will always have one plug with 4 pins and the others with only 3.

This is the tachometer readout pin. The fan controller will send the same PWM signal to all fans but only read the speed of one. That's why it's always more convenient to use the same fan models on splitters, which is your case :)

You can even consider running up to 3 fans per output on the commander pro, if you later mount the fans on long radiators like 360mm. easier to set one fan curve for the whole rad

You can even consider running up to 3 fans per output on the commander pro, if you later mount the fans on long radiators like 360mm. easier to set one fan curve for the whole rad

Don't do that. While you may get lucky (I've heard of one or two), we've seen LOTS of cases of dead fan headers from 3-way splitters.

It outputs 1A per output, 4.5A max on the 6 outputs.

if people max them out on splitters yea it may overload on startup, or overheat running them full blast but 6 ML fans on 2 outputs are not really a concern. This kind of setup is standard for 360 rads.