Corsair Community

XMS 512MB 3200C2PT Problems?

wasmith

My setup:

Asus A7N8X Deluxe v2.0

Xorsair XMS 512MB 3200C2PT x 3 ("optimal setting and running in dual channel at 200mhz)

Athlon XP 2500+ (not overclocked)

Thermaltake SubzeroG TEC cooling system

350w PSU (came with my aspire x-dreamer II case)

EVGA Nvidia 6600GT AGP w/ 128meg DDR3

I have had these sticks (3) for a little over a year now (Jan. 04) and have always encountered random system reboots while playing graphic intensive games.

But, I always contributed it to an overheating or power supply problem.

After I started playing Counter Strike Source, I would get these reboots more often.

So, I d/l'd and ran motherboard monitor to watch my heat and voltages. They're all within tolerance when the reboots occur.

So, I was told to d/l Prime95 (instead of memtest) and run the torture test for most memory usage. I got critical failure immediately.

I adjusted memory timings from the "optimal" setting in the BIOS to 3 3 3 6 and manually to 2 3 3 6. Both settings still fail immediately in Prime95 torture test.

Although the documentation for Pime95 says that my PSU or overheating can cause such problems, I find it unlikely due to my stable temps and voltages.

Should running memtest on each stick individually be my next step? The reason I ask, is because I was told in an AMD mobo forum that Prime95 caught more failures than memtest. So, I figured if it would test more thoroughly, it was the logical choice in testing software.

What suggestions do you have for me?

Sure thing...sorry about that. I basically have all my BIOS settings at the default or Optimal settings.

CPU

Clock: 166

Multiplier: auto setting (multiplier of 11 shows greyed out)

Voltage: 1.65v (default)

System Performance: "Optimal" setting

Memory

Timing: "Optimal" setting (have also manually set timings to 2-3-3-6 and 3-3-3-6)

Frequency: "by speed" (have tried 100% as well)

voltage: 2.6v (default)

• Corsair Employees