Corsair Community

CMX512R-3200C2PT failure to boot in Abit NF-7S

rdhinmex

I am having trouble adding a second stick of memory (CMX512R-3200C2PT XMS3200Rv1.1) to my Abit NF-7S board:

ABIT NF-7S

The manual says to add to DIMM 3-->2-->1 in that order. DIMM 2-3 are the 'shotgun' slots that are supposed to be able to run Dual ram modules at 400 MHz.

This is the old Ram I have:

Corsair XMS 3200LLPT XMS3205v1.1 2-2-2-6-T1 CL2 (stable at 2-2-2-5 for over one year)

The problem. When I add the second stick it is not recognized (in DIMM 2--or DIMM 1) and the computer boots with only 512MB, the original stick in DIMM 3.

I took out the old stick, and replaced it with the 3200C2PT (with and without clearing CMOS), and my computer would not boot (long single beep). I replace my old stick, and everything is fine again. I suspect a DOA memory except for two things 1) I am a novice, and 2) this is the third stick of replacement memory to do the same thing. It must be me right? But why would it not boot?

I am not overclocking, just running optimized defaults.

Contact with Newegg (they were great) revealed that my 30 days had long expired, and they will not send me a fourth stick of RAM.

Thanks for your help.

Ralph

• Corsair Employees

Ralph,

I am sorry but the MB you have will not support registered memory. Please see if the reseller will let you send that module back and get a Twinx set of modules that does not have an "R" or "RE" in the part#. Like Twinx1024-3200XL would be the fastest choice!