Corsair Community

Seeking recommendations for memory 400Mhz DDR in ASUS A8V Deluxe gamer rig

hayseed

I would to solicit your input on proper memory configuration for a new dedicated gaming PC -- both online and local games.

The base system is an ASUS A8V Deluxe motherboard w/AMD Athlon 64 3400 chip. I'm adding an PNY nVidia GeForce 6800 Ultra and a 500 watt PS.

The problem is I'm new to this whole build your own thing and I need some input from the guru's on this board. I've surfed around at several of the brand name memory sites and this one has some of the best support I've seen. That plus the technical write ups on Corsair really make this the memory I want.

The problem is I don't have enough background to decide on whether I need 1GB, 2GB, or even 4GB. For PC3200 400 Mhz simms, I've heard its best to keep it down to 2 sticks to reduce load and to keep the FSB speed up to 400 and not 333.

I'm currently looking at either:

1GB TWINX1024-3200XL 1GB Kit

2GB TWINX2048-3200C2PT 2GB Kit

So there you have it. I hope that's info background to let ya'll make an informed recommendation. If not, just let me know what else I need to supply.

Thank you all in advance for your time. I look forward to reading your replies.

Sincerely,

Future Corsair customer :biggrin:

If you want to run in Dual Channel you most definately need 2 sticks. It will depend on which A64 chip you're going to run and mobo. (EDIT: ok, that asus board and chip give you dual channel.....)

Usually 1 gig of ram will be plenty, especially if you're building a gaming rig. Guys that do HEAVY video editing and such like to have extra ram....for a gaming rig it's over kill IMO.

I'm ordering a new A64 set up next week too....I'm going with the MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum mobo, socket 939 3400+ with a winchester core. I just got some TwinX1024pc3200c2pt for the ram and will power it with an Antec NeoPower 480.....(That psu took 1st place in a 10 PSU shootout in MaximumPC January issue. AWESOME psu.....:)