Corsair Community

Corsair 4300c3pro Vs. 5400c4pro

Hi, i am really new at RAM and everything. I want to know if the latencies are very important. The 5400c4 has latencies of 4-4-4-12 and the 4300c3 has 3-3-3-8. What would this mean in performance? I would think that the 5400 should be better...but i really have no idea. Which of these modules would perform better?

I plan on building a system with these parts:

Pentium 4 3.2E Ghz 800 Mhz FSB socket 775 (prescott core)

1 GB of Corsair Twin2x1024-5400c4 RAM (4-4-4-12@1.9v)

ATI Radeon X850 XT Platinum Edition Graphics Card (PCI-express)

Western Digital Hard drive - WD1600JB - 160 gb hd, 7200rpm, 8mb cache

Western Digital Hard Drive - WD2500JB - 250 gb hd, 7200rpm, 8mb cache

Asus p5ad2-e premium motherboard

SoundBlaster Audigy 2 ZS Gamer limited edition

Sony 1.44 floppy drive

TWO Lite-on SOHW1633 DVD+-RW drives (Dual layer)

Windows XP Home edition SP2

Raidmax case - 668WBP i believe is the description...but doesnt really matter.

I havent decided on a power supply yet, it will be one of these:

------------------------------------------------------------------

ENERMAX COOLERGIANT EG485AX-VHB 2.0 AX 480W PSU, SMART FAN, SEPARATE 12V RAILS, DUAL FAN, MANUALLY ADJUST POWER SUPPLY.

http://www.gameve.com/gve/store/pro...PSENGE485AX-VHB

------------------------------------------------------------------

Antec Neopower 480 watt 120mm fan ATX 12V v2.0 power supply Active PFC

http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produ...iate=pricewatch

-------------------------------------------------------------------

OCZ PowerStream 520W Power Supply OCZ520ADJ - 520W

http://www.excaliberpc.com/product_...roducts_id=3926

-------------------------------------------------------------------

Also, if anyone would suggest one of these, i would appreciate it :)

IMNO, that Antec PSU is a pretty good one.

As for your setup...