Corsair Community

RM750i random shut downs - do I need to RMA? (Canada)

Kukov

UPDATE: Have since purchased a 500W EVGA PSU and there are no shutdowns - confirms that it was my Corsair PSU that was causing the problem.

Hi everyone,

TL;DR

Have a one year old Corsair RM 750i that started randomly shutting down. Replaced the PSU with a temporary one and everything is fine. How do I fix the issue with the 750i? RMA?

DETAILS

I bought a Corsair RM 750i about one year ago for my new system: i7-5820K, 32GB Corsair Vengeance RAM, GTX 660, Noctua D14 cooler, 2 HDDs, 2 SSDs, etc. Overclocked the CPU to 4.4 GHZ and did extensive stress tests six months ago (and confirmed details on Overclockers.net forums) and everything was fine.

The system has been running great until two weeks ago when I started experiencing random shut downs. I work as a video editor and am on my computer for roughly 12 hours a day, often doing heavy rendering. Note, I've done lots of stress tests months ago where I would do heavy 3D renders out of Cinema4D where it would use all CPU cores at almost 100% for 12+ hours and everything was fine.

The shut downs seemed to be random, for no real reason - not during a render or anything intense. Then they started happening more often - it slowly became twice a day, then three times a day. Realising that I was losing a lot of time dealing with this and it wasn't going to get any better, I went out and bought a $60 500W EVGA power supply and put it in. Since then, the system has been totally fine - no shut downs. This leads me to believe the problem is, as suspected, the power supply.

I understand that the RM 750 has had random shut down issues as seen in this thread:

http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=123484

However, I understand that the RM 750i is a better model and should be fine.