Corsair Community

H115i Performance Mounted to a 6700K

Troy.Carnahan

Hello everyone!

I just recently built my new system and installed an H115i. Right out of the box I replaced the two (4 pin) fans with SP140 Blue LED Fans (3 Pin). So far the only overclocking I have done is enable XMP or let the ASUS utilities configure an overclock.

I have installed quite a few radiators in the past, but nothing on a skylake chip. The consistency in temps to me does not seem correct when running benchmarks or stress test. My temps have been seen going from 60C under load to over 80C. At idle, my temps fluctuate quite a bit as well. They'll go as low at 30C to 45C.

The last cooler I installed on an overclocked 4790K was an H110 GTX and the temps never went above 60C under load. Same case and fan setups, different processor and mobo. I do not have a GPU installed yet (its on back order).

I have installed quite a few radiators, I work in the computer service industry. But with that said, I am open to the possibility I installed my radiator incorrectly. I noticed the thermal paste on the H115i is much thinner and circular shaped compared to the H110 GTX which was square and slightly thicker. The other thing I noticed out of the box was a trickling sound in the radiator when I pulled it out of the box, it could be heard the more I moved the radiator around. I've never heard that on a radiator before and I was always under the impression that they were supposed to be airless to prevent thermal pocketing.

*EDIT* I understand my Corsair Link is not properly detecting the radiator fans, I have them plugged directly in to the MOBO. The ASUS utilities are reading the fan RPMS. As for why XTU is reporting incorrect info, I have no idea what's wrong there. It shows 4k watt power draw on the CPU?

What are everyone's thoughts, defective radiator or bad install? The stress test was performed with all fans maxed and the radiator pump on performance mode.