Corsair Community

Brand new CX600 is defective

Dienekes

Hello. I decided to make this thread because of an issue my brand new CX600 has. In case my syntax is bad, i have to inform you that english are not my mother tongue. Well i just made a new build, a whole new computer, and my PSU is corsair (just like RAM and case), more specifically the CX600 model. I used to own the CX500 model on my old PC. The CX500 after 3 years of usage started having issues with its fan. Regardless of the workload on the PSU, the fan would start making a random really annoying grinding noise, which progressively was getting worse, till it reached a point were the fan was barely spinning. I am a programming engineer, and i have been around informatics, computers and electronics since i was a kid due to my father. I am experienced. The fan that is being used by the CX500 is a double ball-bearing fan,and this type of bearing,when it starts making noise,its going to die. As i said the CX500 started having that issue at 3 years of usage,more specifically,10 days after the warranty expired. So i just opened it up,and changed the fan. End of story. Now on my new PSU, the very same problem started since day 2 after purchase. The fan randomly starts making a grinding noise, and it keeps getting worse with time. The local reseller, in Greece is really unreliable regarding service matters, so i decided to contact Corsair directly, but i hadnt got any reply yet. :[pouts: So i am posting this thread here, in hopes i receive some help. Also i would like to ask an additional question. I googled a lot about this, and it seems that this specific problem is very common on the CX series,so i was wondering if its possible that the replacement i get, is a PSU with the same wattage but of a different series. I dont want to deal with the same issue again, i need my computer up and running all the time due to my job and studies and im already going to be without one for 2 weeks till i receive a replacement o