Corsair Community

Normal delta temp between H80iGT and CPU

Rillenn

I'm new to all liquid coolers so I have tested a lot of different settings and stuff for good performance and sound level. And to be honest I'm a little confused so I will share my findings and I'm just asking for second opinion if this looks all fine or if you think something looks off.

Statics: ambient temp ~20°C (68°F), All test start at CPU temp~38°C (100°F) and water temp~32°C (89.6°F) Stress test 100% CPU 30min. H80iGT push-pull config pump in performance, i7 4790K @ 4,4GHz, 3st CHA fans @ 1200rpm.

Test 1

Fan=100%

Water= 34,6°C (94°F)

Cpu temp=70°C (158°F)

Test 2

Fan=60%

Water=36,7°C (98°F)

Cpu temp=70°C (158°F)

Test 3

Fan=40%

Water=38,8°C (102°F)

Cpu temp=74°C (165°F)

So in my testing CPU temp changes very little with fan changes, even so that I couldn't see any changes between 100% and 60% and very small but noticeable changes with 40%. For me this looks a bit warm, not that i expect magic from the small radiator but it feels like my CPU would run a little bit cooler. It runs about 8-10°C cooler stock.

So to end this weird rant, roughly what delta temps between water and CPU is normal with this cooler and do this test result indicate something wrong?

It's very difficult to give a standard delta for water and CPU temperature. There are numerous factors and it really is somewhat unique to each case, hardware, and voltage. You have done the only thing you can do, which is to run tests at controlled settings.