Corsair Community

Ideal PSU for 24 HDD home server?

Cinderwolf

I'm currently building a medium-scale home server with the capacity for 24 HDDs (3tb in size, standard platter 5200rpm with an average power consumption of 5 watts under load) for the RAID array and 1 single 1tb drive for my OS.... but I have no idea what type of a power supply to choose!

I have some experience with Corsair PSUs (and I love them since I've never experienced a failure in all my years building systems) and I'm hoping I can come up with an option or two here!

The server casing I'm using has six backplanes with one single 4-pin (molex) power slot per backplane.

Each backplane will host four of my 3tb drives.

My worry is that if I were to run 8 drives off of a single rail that I'll stress and burn things out faster than typical for a PSU. That said, I'm not sure just how many PSUs Corsair has on the market that have six sata/peripheral device rails to support a configuration such as this (my OS drive would be chained to one of these as well but averages 4W under load as well so 5 rails would be approximately 20watt usage with the 6th sitting at approximately 24watts usage.

I believe that a 750 (or even 850) watt PSU should suffice since the cpu/board are fairly low consumption and the RAID controller I'll be using eats about 150w.

I was hoping to come to conclusions on my own but I've also concluded I could use some help understanding a few things (as I may have a few misconceptions about power draw requirements)! :)

you will need a ton of SATA cables, spliiters for Molex are low cost too

seagate has some 10TB disks now, that would cut down on the number of drives big time

I'm sorry I didn't clarify.. I'm using an SAS RAID card and the backplanes have a single SFF-8087 port that automatically routes to the drives (this means it's one single cable per four hard drives from my raid controller). ;)