Corsair Community

H110i GT running hot!

Deadlock

Hi Everyone,

Any advice on this would be greatly appreciated. I am an experienced builder but i am at a loss with this one :confused:.

Last week i installed a new CPU and Motherboard into my system. The 4790k and an MSI Gaming 5 Motherboard and i am using the H110i GT to cool things down but i appear to be around the 40°C mark at idle and it hit 100°C when tested with Intel Burn Test or the Stress test that comes with the Intel Extreme Tuning Utility. I haven't tried Prime 95 yet. Room temperature is normal at around 24°C-28°C.

I have the H110i GT installed in my 750D case at the top of the case blowing hot air out. I have 4 intake fans installed at the front and at the bottom of my case and my r9-295x2 GPU is installed as the exhaust with two SP 120s. This is an older image of my case before the new motherboard and Ram (This is exactly how it is assembled now with the new Mobo and CPU):

IMG_0386.thumb.JPG.330575ee0c3389388a4c680c998e8bb6.JPG

I have triple checked that the back plate is correctly installed with the notches around the screws and i have checked all cables are correctly connected. The 3-pin fan connector is connected to the CPUFAN1 Header.

I am using Arctic Cooling MX-4 thermal compund and i have tried the pea method, the rice method and the X method but it does not seem to make much difference.

When i stress test the CPU for 10 minutes CPU Core 1 is always the hottest and is usually around the 92°C-100°C. Cores 2 and 3 are about 5-10 degrees lower and the 4th core sits at around 84°C-88°C.

For stress testing I have the Corsair Link Software configured in Performance Mode for the Pump and the Fans.

When i put my hand above my case where the hot air should be coming out the air is still cool.

I was getting these results at stock settings, before i had even had a chance to look at the bios.