Corsair Community

Asus P5AD2 Premium and Corsair 5400

Zzap

I have a some questions wrt. the compatibility of Asus P5AD2/PREMIUM and Corsair DDRII TWIN2X1024-5400C4.

First off:

1) I'm a newbie wrt. memory so please explain it to me as I'm a two year old

2) I'm planning to use this with a Pentium 4 3.6GHz

3) I have no plans to overclock the system

Here are the questions:

- Can I use the 5400 modules with the P5AD2/PREMIUM board?

- How come Corsair / RAM Guy recommend the 5400 modules (which I figure is DDR2 675 - correct?) when the Asus documentation only specifies DDR2 533/400 non-ECC memory?

- Can I use the 5400 modules with the P5AD2/PREMIUM board without overclocking anything (According to TomsHardware the the P4 3.6 is sensitive to heat so I'm not inclined to overclock)?

- If I have to overclock something to use the RAM will that in someway affect the CPU so it gets hotter?

• Corsair Employees

First thing question or statement 3 supersedes all others. That being said if you do not want to over clock the frequency I would suggest you use VS1GBKit533D2 and save your self a few dollars. Plug and Play and you done!

However, if you do want faster memory and do not want to over clock the frequency I would suggest Twin2x1024-4300C3!

First thing question or statement 3 supersedes all others. That being said if you do not want to over clock the frequency I would suggest you use VS1GBKit533D2 and save your self a few dollars. Plug and Play and you done!

However, if you do want faster memory and do not want to over clock the frequency I would suggest Twin2x1024-4300C3!

Thanks for the speedy reply!

I have to confess though that I had already ordered the system described before noticing the different recommendations and the system has been shipped to me.

I *can* ofcourse return the 5400 and order the suggested 4300 but I'll keep the 5400 if I can use them with my motherboard.