Corsair Community

Setup for H100i on x99 motherboard

MrDahl

Hey guys, let me start off by telling you that im a novice at building my own computers. And thats why i've come across a couple of situations, where im not sure what solution is the best for my build - including; What Fan-Pins do I use? Where to place my fans?

My build is:

Intel i7-5820K

x99-Deluxe

Vengeance DDR4-2800mHz

Hydro H100i

Cooler Master V550S

Obsidan 550D Midi Tower

GeForce GTX 780

Samsung SSD

2 x Corsair SP120 High Pre. Edt.120mm Fans

Fans in total:

2 x build in fans front of the 550D

1 x build in fan in the rear

1 x working fan from the H100i (2700 RPM)

2 x SP120 Fans (2350 RPM)

1. Airflow / Fan Location

The Corsair Obsidan 550D Midi Tower looks like this:

http://techdadreview.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/10/400R-airflow.png

I needed to setup the H100i inside the top of the tower, which resulted in having the two fans mounted to the radiator in the case:

(Air --> Case --> Radiator --> Fans --> Internal )

And thats where I came to my first situation: Should it be Exhaust or Intake?

Intake / Exhaust:

In my build i've got:

2 x Intake fans infront

1 x Exhaust at rear

3 x Fans that I need to setup properly (2 of them should be mounted onto the radiator)

What is the best solution? Is it to make a fan intake at the bottom of the case and the two on the radiator as exhaust?

2. What pin to select on x99 motherboard?

On the x99 there is a possibility of having 6 fans, and the names on the pins are as fallow:

CPU_FAN

CPU_OPT

CHA_FAN1 ,..., CHA_FAN4

EXT_FAN (For the extra fan card)

From the H100i there is a cable from the pump to the PSU, that has a Fan input aswell. Should this go into CPU_FAN ? or can I just put everything in random fan locations on the motherboard?

I hope it wasent to much of a read, but im really interested in learning more about my newly found love :laughing:

Thanks again for helping - I appreciate it!