The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-30-2011, 11:58 PM
sassfire sassfire is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 504825
sassfire Reputation: 10
Default Asus P8Z68-V Pro and Memory

Hi All,

I purchased a 2600k CPU, an Asus P8Z68-V PRO with Dominator memory (cmp8gx3m2a1600c9) as per the recommendation of the store. However, after overclocking my system slightly, my system always hangs when running prime95 for a couple of minutes. I installed some cheap memory, and the system overclocks fine.

When I go back to the store they say it is not the memory. I cannot use your memory configurator because my motherboard is still not listed, so I chose the MB’s brother P8P67 and it lists the following.

Enthusiast= CMZ8GX3M2A1866C9
Overclocker= CMZ8GX3M2A1600C8
Highest Density= CMZ16GX3M4A1600C9

Another place on your site lists

Intel Core i7 2600K

2600K w/ Dominator GT — CMT4GX3M2B2133C9
2600K w/ Vengeance — CMZ8GX3M2A1866C9
2600K w/ Dominator GT — CMT8GX3M4A1866C9
2600K w/ Vengeance — CMZ8GX3M2A1600C8
2600K w/ Vengeance — CMZ16GX3M4A1600C9

My goal is to overclock the system, but nothing too crazy, but as it currently stands, I cannot even achieve 4.3. I had narrowed down my choices to CMZ8GX3M2A1866C9, CMZ8GX3M2A1600C8 or CMZ16GX3M4A1600C9 because I did not think GT memory was necessary. It is not $25-30 that will break my budget, I just do not want to buy the wrong memory again and want a very reliable system. The main use of my computer is photo editing and some video editing (secondary).

Can you please suggest what you would think is best with an explanation.

My second problem is that I cannot find any store that carries Vengeance memory in stock, they only have Dominator (probably why the store pushed it on me) and say that Vengeance memory is not as good. From everything I read, it seems to be the opposite when it comes to Sandybridge.

Thank you,
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 05-31-2011, 12:19 AM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,192
POST ID # = 504829
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Store doesn't know what they're talking about. Vengeance memory is explicitly for SandyBridge CPUs. Same speeds at lower voltage.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 05-31-2011, 02:12 PM
sassfire sassfire is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 504933
sassfire Reputation: 10
Default P8Z68 and Memory

Thank you, that is what I thought.

Do you have a suggestion between the memories that I'm considering.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 05-31-2011, 02:55 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,192
POST ID # = 504940
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

If you're going to OC a bit: CMZ8GX3M2A1866C9
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 06-01-2011, 10:13 PM
sassfire sassfire is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 505226
sassfire Reputation: 10
Default

I finally bought the memory based on your suggestion and it works great. Thank you.

My bro is now buying the same system like mine P8z68 but want to overclock like crazy (on air only), would you still suggest the same ram or something else.

Lastly, what is the difference between Enthusiast= CMZ8GX3M2A1866C9 and Overclocker= CMZ8GX3M2A1600C8. I am not just asking about the memory but also the words?

Last edited by sassfire; 06-01-2011 at 10:17 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 06-02-2011, 01:32 AM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,192
POST ID # = 505243
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

One's 1866 Mhz Cas 9, the other's 1600 Mhz Cas 8.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 06-02-2011, 09:05 AM
sassfire sassfire is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 505265
sassfire Reputation: 10
Default

Yes, but which would be better for overclocking a system. I have read a lot on the forums but am still confused between speed (1600 vs 1866) and latency (7 vs 8 vs 9).

I was recommended to use 1866 if I was to overclock a bit. I am just not sure what is meant by a bit.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 06-03-2011, 03:16 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 505602
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Its a hard question to answer because it depends on some variables. There is no yes or no answer to this question.
I am sorry but you really need to know what you are trying to reach; the fastest or highest frequency or tightest timings!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 06-03-2011, 04:02 PM
sassfire sassfire is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 505609
sassfire Reputation: 10
Default

To be honest, I do not really know what I am tring to acheive (ha ha). When I had my Sabertooth P67 motherboard I overclocked it simply through Intel tuning and that was enough for me.

Now that I changed my system to a P8Z68, when I tried to overclock through the Asus software, my system always crashed when running Prime95. I narrowed down the problem to using the wrong memory Corsair Dominator 1600 1.65 which is not supported on my board. Now, I am trying to figure out what to replace it with.

I am not saying that Corsair Dominator is not good memory, I know it is excellent memory, just not for my board.

So I do not know if I answered your question. All I can say, is that I am starting to learn how to overclock and want a memory that will allow me to do this while being stable.

Thanks again for all your help.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 06-03-2011, 04:53 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 505617
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

I would probably suggest using our CMZ8GX3M2A1600C8 because they will likely support higher timings at a higher frequency but you would just have to test. However all we can promise would be the tested settings
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 06-03-2011, 11:29 PM
sassfire sassfire is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 505685
sassfire Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks Ram Guy!

Bought the cmz8gx3m2a1600c8 and it works great.

Thanks Corsair!
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 06-07-2011, 10:22 AM
sassfire sassfire is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 506319
sassfire Reputation: 10
Default

Hi,

I thought that the memory fixed my problem (cmz8gx3m2a1600c8), but when I run memtest+, I always get errors when running at 1600, the system is not overclocked at this point and running all the default setings.

Is this normal?
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 06-07-2011, 11:28 AM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,192
POST ID # = 506332
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

1. Was it Memtest86+ v4.20?
2. Was USB Legacy support disabled? If not, please do, as it can cause false positives.
3. Did you test one stick at a time in the same slot?
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 06-07-2011, 05:46 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 506502
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

All you should have to do is get the latest BIOS from ASUS then load setup defaults and enable XMP it will set everything for you.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 06-08-2011, 07:09 PM
sassfire sassfire is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 506811
sassfire Reputation: 10
Default

Ok, long story short, my memory was defective. Not a problem because the store verified it and exchanged it. However.... they had no C8 in stock and had to give me C9 which was more expensive but did not charge me the difference.

They agreed that I could come back and exchange it on when they had the C8 in stock, however, the store is very far for me and the only reason I would go back would be if you told be to do so.

My system is currently overclocked to about 4750, stable in Prime95 for 4hrs at this point. Should I go back??
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.