The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > USB Flash Drives

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-18-2008, 05:37 AM
Mortho Mortho is offline
Registered User
Mortho's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 337280
Mortho Reputation: 10
Default Padlock fails with USB 2.0

Hi

I recently purchased a Padlock 4GB, which fails sporadically when transferring files to/from it.
Big files ~3.5GB always fail, smaller files ~100MB would occasionally work.
This using USB 2.0.

If I switch over to USB 1.1, they work without a hitch.
This tested on five different computers, running Windows XP Pro and 2003 Server.

I've had this happen with three sticks now.
Has anyone ever had similar problems?


Cheers
Markus

Last edited by Mortho; 03-18-2008 at 05:56 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 03-18-2008, 06:27 AM
Core2Duo Core2Duo is offline
Registered User
Core2Duo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 337288
Core2Duo Reputation: 10
Default

if you had this with 3 sticks .. then its obviously your motherboard and not the sticks
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 03-18-2008, 06:56 AM
Mortho Mortho is offline
Registered User
Mortho's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 337291
Mortho Reputation: 10
Default

Ah, I see.

So in essence all my computers have faulty motherboards?
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 03-18-2008, 08:14 AM
Core2Duo Core2Duo is offline
Registered User
Core2Duo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 337296
Core2Duo Reputation: 10
Default

Not the board technically speaking but Drivers for USB or Mobo .

Maybe even the version of Windows your using ?
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 03-18-2008, 10:02 AM
Mortho Mortho is offline
Registered User
Mortho's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 337307
Mortho Reputation: 10
Default

I've tried running one of the computers with the latest Ubuntu (i386), with the same results.
I also reset the BIOS too just in case there was something in there.

If anyone has any tips or ideas you're most welcome to post them.

In the meantime I'll continue fiddling around.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 03-18-2008, 12:14 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 337339
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

That might be a Power issue, I would check on the MB for the USB Power, most MB's are set to get the USB power from the standby voltage and maybe that PSU cannot provide enough power so I would change the power source to the +5 Volt rail instead of the +5VSB rail if you have that option.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.