The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-22-2017, 05:15 PM
Technobeard's Avatar
Technobeard Technobeard is offline
Bearded Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,292
POST ID # = 931805
Technobeard Reputation: 68
Default Discuss Link v4.9.4.28 here

This will be the official discussion thread for Link v4.9.4.28.

If you'd like to report a bug, please respond to this thread in this format:
Version of your Link software. NOTE: If you're not using v4.9.4.28, please install it and see if the bug has been fixed.
What version of Windows you're using.
Summary - One line / sentence explaining the issue
Detailed description of the issue - This part can be as long as you want. It should be detailed enough so that we can clearly identify the issue and attempt to replicate it.
Attach photos of the issue to the post that help #4.

Quote:
Changelog:
  • Hardware playback restored for SP RGB fans, HD RGB fans, ML RGB fans, and RGB strips.

Bug Fixes:
  • Fixed situations where leaving Corsair LINK running for 3+ days will result in high CPU usage.

Known Issues:
  • Users connecting Lighting Node PRO or AXi USB dongle to Commander PRO USB hub may experience detection issues if Commander PRO is connected to an AMD chipset or ASMedia USB controller. (Fix ongoing.)
  • CPU core numbering may not report correctly for some users. (Fix ongoing.)
  • Extra fans may appear under motherboard info after Link is left running over an extended period of time. (Fix ongoing.)
  • Systems with AMD graphics cards may report one extra graphics card. (Fix ongoing.)
  • Mechanical hard disks may not enter sleep state. (Fix ongoing.)
  • Changing profiles does not change DRAM lighting. (Scheduled to be fixed in next release.)
  • LL RGB fans will require the Corsair LINK software to function. This is a limitation of the Lighting Node PRO and Commander PRO hardware.
  • CPUs with more than 16 cores will not report all cores. This is a limitation of Corsair LINK being a 32-bit application.


  #2  
Old 12-22-2017, 06:29 PM
OutLore OutLore is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Louisburg, NC
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 931824
OutLore Reputation: 10
Default

Hi - when will it be available for download - currently the latest available at http://www.corsair.com/en-us/downloads is 4.9.3.25

thx


  #3  
Old 12-22-2017, 06:53 PM
Technobeard's Avatar
Technobeard Technobeard is offline
Bearded Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,292
POST ID # = 931827
Technobeard Reputation: 68
Default

The direct download should be uploaded later tonight. If you update through the app you should be able to download it right now.
__________________
“Humor is reason gone mad.” - Groucho Marx
"I suggest a full frontal assault with automated laser monkeys, scalpel mines and acid." - Psychotic potato dwarf
"Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, especially simian ones. They are not all that subtle." - Terry Pratchett


  #4  
Old 12-22-2017, 07:40 PM
OutLore OutLore is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Louisburg, NC
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 931832
OutLore Reputation: 10
Default

Thx.
So.. just upgraded to 4.9.4.28 to try and fix this issue - but it has not fixed it. Seems that someone else had a similar issue before that "self resolved" - where they were using a mixture of LL120 and LL140 fans.

Note in the images below that each fan should be a single color, but there are 2 that are mixed pink/green

Version of your Link software: V4.9.4.28 & V4.9.3.25
Windows 10.0.16299.125
Fan LED's "bleeding" into each other
6 LL120's, LNP V0.5.104 (also tried earlier version but it didn't even have LL fans as an option)

If I have fans set to different colors or effects, some of the fans get "color bleed" from the fan in front/behind it.
Same with the effects that use all the fans - I.E. Pong at one end gets screwy.

If I remove some fans - even right down to only having 2, the problem is still there. I have changed the order of the fans, and also swapped out both the hub and the LNP (I have 2 of the 3 packs, so have double) and nothing fixes this issue - I can only think that it's a software problem but it seems like it's not a very common issue.

Here's my config in Link


Here's the front fans (No.1 is the lower fan, no.2 above it)


Here's the rear fans - (No.3 and 4 in the top, No.5 at the rear and No.6 is CPU) Note how 5 (rear) and 6 (cpu) are split, as though link thinks there are actually 7 fans.

Last edited by OutLore; 12-22-2017 at 07:43 PM.


  #5  
Old 12-22-2017, 09:04 PM
huppra huppra is offline
Registered User
huppra's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 34
POST ID # = 931842
huppra Reputation: 10
Default When does corsair plan on letting me use corsair link on my other monitor?

Its been countless releases and I still cannot place corsair link on my top monitor without it immediately moving to the lower monitor.




It is also still crashing daily, with this in event viewer.


Faulting application name: CorsairLink4.exe, version: 4.9.4.28, time stamp: 0x5a2aa2fc
Faulting module name: ntdll.dll, version: 10.0.16299.64, time stamp: 0xac8afc81
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x0005d0bc
Faulting process id: 0x3f20
Faulting application start time: 0x01d37b8956d4afcc
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files (x86)\CorsairLink4\CorsairLink4.exe
Faulting module path: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll
Report Id: dbd50732-03cb-46d9-80e2-9d9ac039593b
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:

Last edited by huppra; 12-23-2017 at 02:16 PM.


  #6  
Old 12-22-2017, 10:10 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,851
POST ID # = 931852
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OutLore View Post
Thx.
So.. just upgraded to 4.9.4.28 to try and fix this issue - but it has not fixed it. Seems that someone else had a similar issue before that "self resolved" - where they were using a mixture of LL120 and LL140 fans.

Note in the images below that each fan should be a single color, but there are 2 that are mixed pink/green

Version of your Link software: V4.9.4.28 & V4.9.3.25
Windows 10.0.16299.125
Fan LED's "bleeding" into each other
6 LL120's, LNP V0.5.104 (also tried earlier version but it didn't even have LL fans as an option)

If I have fans set to different colors or effects, some of the fans get "color bleed" from the fan in front/behind it.
Same with the effects that use all the fans - I.E. Pong at one end gets screwy.

If I remove some fans - even right down to only having 2, the problem is still there. I have changed the order of the fans, and also swapped out both the hub and the LNP (I have 2 of the 3 packs, so have double) and nothing fixes this issue - I can only think that it's a software problem but it seems like it's not a very common issue.

Here's my config in Link


Here's the front fans (No.1 is the lower fan, no.2 above it)


Here's the rear fans - (No.3 and 4 in the top, No.5 at the rear and No.6 is CPU) Note how 5 (rear) and 6 (cpu) are split, as though link thinks there are actually 7 fans.
Have you tried reversing fans 5 & 6 on the RGB Fan Controller?
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks



  #7  
Old 12-23-2017, 12:40 AM
OutLore OutLore is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Louisburg, NC
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 931857
OutLore Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
Have you tried reversing fans 5 & 6 on the RGB Fan Controller?
Thanks for the repsonse - if I switch any of the fans with other fans I get the same result - I just tried it specifically with 5 & 6 and got the same result - no change.


  #8  
Old 12-23-2017, 01:10 AM
SpeedyV SpeedyV is offline
Registered User
SpeedyV's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 419
POST ID # = 931859
SpeedyV Reputation: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by huppra View Post
Its been countless releases and I still cannot place corsair link on my top monitor without it immediately moving to the lower monitor.

They STILL haven't fixed this? It's not on the list of known issues either so maybe they are not planning to fix it??


  #9  
Old 12-23-2017, 02:33 AM
DeadxWreckoning DeadxWreckoning is offline
Registered User
DeadxWreckoning's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 20
POST ID # = 931862
DeadxWreckoning Reputation: 10
Default

For Corsair employee Dustin -

I reported on the last version of Link that I couldn't install the update unless I closed everything in my system tray because the Link installer would crash every time I went to update either through the Link updater or the standalone package.

Well it did the same with this version, so I closed apps in my tray one by one. Turns out it's caused by MSI Afterburner and/or RivaTuner (when I close Afterburner it closes both). As soon as that closed, I was able to update without crashes or error. Dunno what's up with Link but it conflicts with those and has for others.

Last edited by DeadxWreckoning; 12-23-2017 at 02:38 AM.


  #10  
Old 12-23-2017, 06:14 AM
edeka3 edeka3 is offline
Registered User
edeka3's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 931880
edeka3 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeadxWreckoning View Post
For Corsair employee Dustin -

I reported on the last version of Link that I couldn't install the update unless I closed everything in my system tray because the Link installer would crash every time I went to update either through the Link updater or the standalone package.

Well it did the same with this version, so I closed apps in my tray one by one. Turns out it's caused by MSI Afterburner and/or RivaTuner (when I close Afterburner it closes both). As soon as that closed, I was able to update without crashes or error. Dunno what's up with Link but it conflicts with those and has for others.

I have the exact same issue!


  #11  
Old 12-23-2017, 07:11 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,255
POST ID # = 931891
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technobeard View Post
Hardware playback restored for SP RGB fans, HD RGB fans, ML RGB fans, and RGB strips.
It should be noted for those with LL fans and Strips (and indeed if they also have HD/SP/ML fans also in their system along side LL fans)

You will no longer have synced lighting effects with out Link running

Which I personally don't get as the above 'fix' is to mostly please those that Don't run corsair Link

not really an issue but my system now looks all miss matched when shutting down and restarting

Maybe a hardware playback toggle could be introduced?


  #12  
Old 12-23-2017, 01:53 PM
huppra huppra is offline
Registered User
huppra's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 34
POST ID # = 931939
huppra Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpeedyV View Post
They STILL haven't fixed this? It's not on the list of known issues either so maybe they are not planning to fix it??
who knows, acknowledgement either way would be great.

Last edited by huppra; 12-23-2017 at 02:28 PM.


  #13  
Old 12-23-2017, 01:54 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,851
POST ID # = 931940
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by huppra View Post
who knows, acknowledgement either way would be great. Otherwise that coupled with Corsairlink crashing everyday, I may have to ditch the corsair eco system for something more stable.
What crashes are you seeing everyday? Can you post some stack traces from Event Viewer (look for something with .NET Runtime as the source) or the log files from C:\ProgramData\CLink4?
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks



  #14  
Old 12-23-2017, 05:56 PM
huppra huppra is offline
Registered User
huppra's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 34
POST ID # = 932003
huppra Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
What crashes are you seeing everyday? Can you post some stack traces from Event Viewer (look for something with .NET Runtime as the source) or the log files from C:\ProgramData\CLink4?
If I understood how to stack trace I would gladly help. I had to cut the logs to just cover recent days as they were both over 60mb. As for the crashes, it will just randomly crash, I added the event viewer log to the post above. I will just come home to windows app crash popup asking me to send a report.
Attached Files
File Type: log Client_Trace.log (616.0 KB, 173 views)
File Type: log Service_Error.log (38.9 KB, 70 views)


  #15  
Old 12-23-2017, 06:26 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,624
POST ID # = 932008
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

Hmm.. this was not a successful update for me. I have been sitting on Link 4.8 and Commander Pro firmware 0.21 for a while to maintain the hardware playback and accurate temp probe readings. I did update to the 4.9.4.28 this morning and C-Pro firmware 0.41. I hooked one HD120 into the C-Pro and my other fans remain on my motherboard.

Both of my temp probes no longer provide readings and are static at 0.0C. Link rhythmically loses the one HD120 (Fan #3) and it pulses in an out of both Link and AIDA sensors. Closing AIDA did not resolve the issue. Mutliple reboots did not resolve the issues. Additionally, the C-Pro (or Link) is detecting a phantom fan in slot #1. Based on the value, it appears to be the raw pump speed data from my X62.

Since the temp probes and the one GPU rad fan linked to the probe are my uses for fan control, I rolled back to FW 0.21 first. I was about to roll back Link as well, but after the reboot following FW 0.21, all was back to normal. I am not sure if this is firmware related, Link related, or a combination. I am going to let it ride on this Link version and FW 0.21 and see how it goes. The only issue I had on 4.8 was the 0 fan bug.

EDIT: The 4.9.4.28 and C-Pro FW 0.21 combo did not last long. The same issues with faulty temp probe data, phantom fans, and wonky data returned. Add mismatched voltage rails to the list (12v rail reads 3.31v, 5V reads 12.015, etc). I had a hard time removing it as well and had to use a 3rd party tool. All looks back to normal on 4.8 and 0.21.

Last edited by c-attack; 12-23-2017 at 11:26 PM.


Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.