The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Keyboards and Mice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 13 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-03-2013, 10:45 PM
BrianB BrianB is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 650908
BrianB Reputation: 10
Default Corsair Vengeance K70 Keyboard Unresponsive

Hello,
I am new to the forums as I have recently purchased a Vengeance K70 Keyboard. I received the keyboard yesterday and when I first plugged it in everything was working perfectly fine. I tested all of the keys to make sure they worked etc, but today when I was just working on my computer the keyboard suddenly went black (meaning the backlighting went off), and the computer became unresponsive. I figured it would be a minor problem since these problems occur very often in products, but I've tried literally everything. I have disconnected and reconnected the USB, switched it to a different port, restarted my computer, disabled some windows options and reenabling them, switching my mouse port to the keyboard port to see if the USB port was functional (it was), and I connected the keyboard to a different computer and it worked just fine. Additionally, there is almost no information on the K70 since it is completely brand new, so I have no idea how to "reinstall the driver".

Something I found very odd in attempting to fix the issue is when I go to the Device Manager, I always find "Razer DeathAdder 3.5G Keyboard" under the keyboards category, and yes, I am using a Razer DeathAdder 3.5G mouse. I honestly have no idea why this is though, but I'm fairly certain this is a part of the issue. I have tried uninstalling the device, but it doesn't do anything. I will try to figure out the issue and report back when I resolve it. Any help is very greatly appreciated.

Also, I have sent in a ticket request to the Corsair Tech Support, and they don't even have an option for the K70 under parts number.

EDIT: When I plug in my current keyboard and the K70, the K70 (which I presume) goes under "Other Devices" and is called "RazerKeyboard_0016_01_01". This has to be the oddest problem I've ever seen.

EDIT 2: [RESOLVED] See below for details.

EDIT 3: Just kidding. I bumped the cord that connects the keyboard to the computer (BUMPED), and it stopped working again. This is just stupid now.

EDIT 4: Resolved again.

Last edited by BrianB; 05-04-2013 at 05:40 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 05-03-2013, 11:17 PM
Falkentyne Falkentyne is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 56
POST ID # = 650913
Falkentyne Reputation: 10
Default

device conflict. You're best off uninstalling any razer device drivers you have. I believe you can delete the HID registry information in safe mode by changing the permissions in regedit, or there may be another way.

You had to do something like this back on windows XP, due to a bug in the USB drivers; sometimes, when plugging in a device that had been plugged in too many times (to that particular port), you woulid get the disconnect sound instantly, and the only fix was to completely remove the registry information from that device.

The fact that your keyboard works fine in another computer shows its a clear device corruption/conflict and is definitely not keyboard related.

You'll probably have to do some registry maintenence somehow.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 05-03-2013, 11:52 PM
BrianB BrianB is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 650921
BrianB Reputation: 10
Default

So use a completely different mouse? Or would I have to still uninstall the device drivers registered with Razer.

I have tried to unplug my mouse, since I figured it had something to do with it, and then connecting my keyboard all by itself, and still nothing happens.

Assuming you are then correct and I do need to reconfigure the registry, wouldn't the issue arise again eventually? Thanks for the suggestion, I'll test it out and report the details.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 05-04-2013, 12:10 AM
NothinPersonal NothinPersonal is offline
Registered User
NothinPersonal's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Depends where I'm at
Posts: 79
POST ID # = 650924
NothinPersonal Reputation: 10
Default

Download and run CCleaner but before you do, go through the options up and down and check anything and everything you want to be cleared/deleted when ran. If DriverSweeper is still around you may want to download that and run that one. Those two software are excellent. Then plug the k/b back in and see what happens. If it works, create a system restore point after you've rebooted.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 05-04-2013, 01:28 AM
BrianB BrianB is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 650935
BrianB Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NothinPersonal View Post
Download and run CCleaner but before you do, go through the options up and down and check anything and everything you want to be cleared/deleted when ran. If DriverSweeper is still around you may want to download that and run that one. Those two software are excellent. Then plug the k/b back in and see what happens. If it works, create a system restore point after you've rebooted.
You are a lifesaver. I just did this and my keyboard is working again. How do you create a system restore point?

EDIT: Okay so it was working, but my cord was in the front so I had to disconnect the keyboard and replug it back in the back of my desk, and in doing so, now it doesn't work again. Sigh, I have literally no idea what is going on, or why this is happening.

EDIT AGAIN: Alright this is seriously getting frustrating; the keyboard is working again after I CCleaned it, but I doubt it'll stay working after I restart my computer or do anything to it.

Last edited by BrianB; 05-04-2013 at 01:41 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 05-04-2013, 01:58 AM
eternitykh eternitykh is offline
Registered User
eternitykh's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 74
POST ID # = 650938
eternitykh Reputation: 10
Default

yeah make sure to clean all traces of conflicting drivers, and make sure to also clean out your corsair drivers.

after that plug it into the desired port (the ones in the back i guess) then reinstall your corsair drivers again. then you shouldn't run into any further problems
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 05-04-2013, 02:05 AM
BrianB BrianB is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 650939
BrianB Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eternitykh View Post
yeah make sure to clean all traces of conflicting drivers, and make sure to also clean out your corsair drivers.

after that plug it into the desired port (the ones in the back i guess) then reinstall your corsair drivers again. then you shouldn't run into any further problems
The issue was partially conflicting drivers, as far as I'm concerned. The problem with the K70 is that there is no driver to update, or anything to install. My computer couldn't recognize that the keyboard existed or something, so I couldn't reinstall the drivers in the first place.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 05-04-2013, 04:56 PM
BrianB BrianB is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 651063
BrianB Reputation: 10
Default

Bump. Issue became unresolved again, refer to EDIT 3 for details.

I have tried doing CCleaner, and now it doesn't work for me anymore. Sigh, my first Corsair product and this is what happens.

I should really get a Twitter account for all these updates.

EDIT: So the problem with the keyboard from the beginning was with the cord. The cord is extremely thick and braided, so when I went to put the cord behind the desk it got all bendy, which apparently screws up the wiring in the keyboard. Now I have the keyboard running fine after finding a straight path from the keyboard to my computer. Hopefully it'll stay that way.

Seriously, this has been the most stressful weekend I've had in a long time.

Last edited by BrianB; 05-04-2013 at 05:40 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 05-06-2013, 12:59 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 651406
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Do you have a second system to test the keyboard to see if it identifies itself as a K70 when connected? This would tell you if its a specific issue with the keyboard (which we can replace for you if its the case) or if its an issue with the hardware on your system. The K70 uses the default HID drivers in Windows so that is why it doesn't come with it's own drivers. If your HID drivers are corrupted, then you can have issues using the keyboard.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 07-21-2013, 01:34 PM
Ketmo785 Ketmo785 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 665936
Ketmo785 Reputation: 10
Default

I ve got the same problem, with K70 in combination with a steelseries sensei.
Problem: After windows starts (about 10 sec or so) keyboard dies. Restarting doesn t resolve issue and keyboard stays dead

I have a quickfix and a long term fix. Non of them are ones i really like.

quick fix.
Unplug keyboard and mouse. Plugg in keyboard. start windows with only keyboard plugged. Plug in mouse after windows have started.

Long term fix.
Deinstall Steelseries software and drivers and use windows standard drivers for the mouse.

Seems the problem at least for me is the software from steelseries somehow blocking they keyboard/creating a conflict issue. I guess the same might be for the Razor.

Somehow i think the software from steelseries think the keyboard is a mouse.. or well..

Not fun to not be able to have the Steelseries driver for thier mouse thought...
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 07-21-2013, 11:51 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 666014
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ketmo785 View Post
I ve got the same problem, with K70 in combination with a steelseries sensei.
Problem: After windows starts (about 10 sec or so) keyboard dies. Restarting doesn t resolve issue and keyboard stays dead

I have a quickfix and a long term fix. Non of them are ones i really like.

quick fix.
Unplug keyboard and mouse. Plugg in keyboard. start windows with only keyboard plugged. Plug in mouse after windows have started.

Long term fix.
Deinstall Steelseries software and drivers and use windows standard drivers for the mouse.

Seems the problem at least for me is the software from steelseries somehow blocking they keyboard/creating a conflict issue. I guess the same might be for the Razor.

Somehow i think the software from steelseries think the keyboard is a mouse.. or well..

Not fun to not be able to have the Steelseries driver for thier mouse thought...
Does this happen on any other machine?
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 07-23-2013, 07:46 AM
Ketmo785 Ketmo785 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 666299
Ketmo785 Reputation: 10
Default

I havn t had possibility to try in on another machine yet unfortunately.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 08-30-2013, 02:29 AM
azabs000 azabs000 is offline
Registered User
azabs000's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 672178
azabs000 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ketmo785 View Post
I ve got the same problem, with K70 in combination with a steelseries sensei.
Problem: After windows starts (about 10 sec or so) keyboard dies. Restarting doesn t resolve issue and keyboard stays dead

I have a quickfix and a long term fix. Non of them are ones i really like.

quick fix.
Unplug keyboard and mouse. Plugg in keyboard. start windows with only keyboard plugged. Plug in mouse after windows have started.

Long term fix.
Deinstall Steelseries software and drivers and use windows standard drivers for the mouse.

Seems the problem at least for me is the software from steelseries somehow blocking they keyboard/creating a conflict issue. I guess the same might be for the Razor.

Somehow i think the software from steelseries think the keyboard is a mouse.. or well..

Not fun to not be able to have the Steelseries driver for thier mouse thought...
Did you find a solution to this?
I just bought a K70 yesterday and seems i am having to same problems with it too sooooo annoying!!!!
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 04-14-2014, 05:52 AM
eirsmi eirsmi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 705386
eirsmi Reputation: 10
Default

Did you guys ever find the solution? My K70 just stopped working tonight while I was asleep and I can't get it to work again..
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 04-14-2014, 11:05 PM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 705485
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

I think the OP's problem was a faulty USB cable.

If you keyboard is unresponsive,
Have you tried a different USB port and computer?
Do the L.E.D.s light up when plugged in?
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.