The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-17-2016, 04:55 PM
chris285 chris285 is offline
Registered User
chris285's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 27
POST ID # = 837633
chris285 Reputation: 10
Default Void RGB Wireless Issue with skype

I have a problem where when the cue software for the heatset is installed, i hear no sound in skype but windows sounds work fine. Firmware is 38.1 and i downloaded the latest cue software as this is a fairly fresh windows 10 install

When I first purchased the headset I had this problem and I had to uninstall the cue software and it worked as I have done now, has anyone else had this reoccurance?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 02-17-2016, 08:46 PM
Alax Alax is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 837669
Alax Reputation: 10
Default

maybe you want to check the Skype or sound notification setting to see if void is selected as your default communication device. I myself am using Skype with void wireless everyday. no issue here. (latest firmware and CUE btw)
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 02-18-2016, 05:24 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 837739
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

As mentioned by Alax, You will want to double check Skype's audio settings if it only affects Skype and nothing else.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 02-18-2016, 06:58 AM
chris285 chris285 is offline
Registered User
chris285's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 27
POST ID # = 837769
chris285 Reputation: 10
Default

I checked these and the audio is not heard when I hit test, weirdly if i select advanced options i hear it for around half a second but this is it.

I will try installing the software again later and see if that resolves it
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 02-18-2016, 01:50 PM
chris285 chris285 is offline
Registered User
chris285's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 27
POST ID # = 837821
chris285 Reputation: 10
Default

Reinstalled the software and not working still, same behaviour where if i hit the test sound button in skype and then go to advanced options i hear it brieflly.

To add to this i cannot hear the test tone in windows control panel either but games etc have been fine
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 02-19-2016, 05:53 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 837942
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

When you attempt to play the test tones, Windows will prompt you that it has failed to play it? If so,Can you open device manager and expand Audio inputs and output devices as well as the sound, video and game controller and attach a screenshot here?

Alt+Printscreen with the Device Manager window focused. This will only take a screenshot of the Device Manger window and not the whole screen.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 02-20-2016, 01:37 PM
chris285 chris285 is offline
Registered User
chris285's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 27
POST ID # = 838163
chris285 Reputation: 10
Default

Windows does not return an error during the audio test it plays correctly, the same is true of when starting up skype i hear the starting noise it is just the skype test which fails as well as not being able to hear on a call

Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 02-21-2016, 07:37 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 838308
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

Which type of Skype are you using Desktop or Modern UI and what is the version is it?

Make sure the headset is on the top of the list for both audio devices.
Options>Audio settings>Show advanced options (Desktop application, may not apply to the Modern UI app)

When you are in a call e.g. Echo. Click the signal bars at the bottom right hand corner of the screen. Is the speakers and microphone set as the device? (Desktop application, may not apply to the Modern UI app)

Last edited by Toasted; 02-21-2016 at 07:40 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 02-22-2016, 01:23 PM
chris285 chris285 is offline
Registered User
chris285's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 27
POST ID # = 838494
chris285 Reputation: 10
Default

I believe I am using the desktop version, which is 7.18.0.112

I have removed all other devices in the advanced list in skype, and it is selected one for microphone and speakers

I have checked in a test call and confirmed that the correct device is set for microphone and speakers
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 02-22-2016, 08:13 PM
Corsair Chris Corsair Chris is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 381
POST ID # = 838598
Corsair Chris Reputation: 10
Default

Could you take a screenshot of your audio settings in Windows and in Skype?
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 02-24-2016, 03:07 PM
chris285 chris285 is offline
Registered User
chris285's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 27
POST ID # = 838954
chris285 Reputation: 10
Default

Below are some screenshots of the areas requested, as soon as I uninstall the cue software it works and teamspeak is also affected. Please note these settings are unchange between the cue software being installed and not



Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 02-24-2016, 06:22 PM
Corsair Chris Corsair Chris is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 381
POST ID # = 839001
Corsair Chris Reputation: 10
Default

Was your Windows 10 a clean install or an upgrade?
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 02-25-2016, 01:54 AM
jefrotone jefrotone is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 839039
jefrotone Reputation: 10
Exclamation

I have this same issue with skype, with netflix and my games. If I turn it off and leave netflix and my game running, the device will never turn on and gives me a malfunction state. I have to turn everything off and reset the usb to make it work again. This really sucks, it worked fine before the update. Didn't have any issues till I updated.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 02-25-2016, 05:01 AM
chris285 chris285 is offline
Registered User
chris285's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 27
POST ID # = 839047
chris285 Reputation: 10
Default

@Corsair Chris, it is a fairly recent install of windows 10 as I finally got round to moving from my previous ~2yr old install which was a win7 upgraded to 10. I had this issue on that instance but then I think a recent or the most recent version of cue resolved my issue, now on a fresh OS install I seem to be having the exact same issues again with skype/teamspeak/gotomeeting which i beleive was identified as they use the same/similar protocols

Now with the software removed some games don't give me sound as I assume it is not picking up the headset correctly
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.