The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 05-11-2019, 02:31 AM
Vegan Vegan is offline
Hardcore Games
Vegan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 236
POST ID # = 1004219
Vegan Reputation: 10
Default

I am wondering if the designer was unable to allow for more room around the screw holes
__________________

Cooler Master HAF 932 chassis with the Corsair HX1000i PSU

Hardcore Games - Legendary of the Only Way to Play

I have been a vegan since 1969. I have experienced more prejudice than anyone could possibly ever imagine.
Reply With Quote


  #17  
Old 08-15-2019, 01:45 PM
511 keV 511 keV is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1014753
511 keV Reputation: 10
Default

I just purchased Corsair RM650x v2 CPU.

I have a question that may be very stupid, so pardon me:


It was provided with 4 screws, but only 3 of them seem to be usable. One screw hole is blocked.

When I try with a toothpick there is something obstructing it, seems like plastic or something.

https://imgur.com/a/19qck2j

Just like in this pic I found. Yet on some other pics of the same PSU it doesn't seem to be like this.

I definitely can't insert the 4th screw for more than 1-2 mm before it gets blocked.

So, is that plastic supposed to be there, is it supposed to "slide" away when I screw it, or do I dare to try in case I break something?

Never had this with any other PSU before, just wondering.
Reply With Quote


  #18  
Old 08-15-2019, 01:57 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,889
POST ID # = 1014755
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 511 keV View Post

When I try with a toothpick there is something obstructing it, seems like plastic or something.

https://imgur.com/a/19qck2j

Just like in this pic I found. Yet on some other pics of the same PSU it doesn't seem to be like this.

I definitely can't insert the 4th screw for more than 1-2 mm before it gets blocked.

So, is that plastic supposed to be there, is it supposed to "slide" away when I screw it, or do I dare to try in case I break something?
You can go ahead and screw in there. The plastic is just plastic to prevent the bottom of the PCB from touching the steel housing. The PCB is actually notched out there to allow for a long mounting screw.
Reply With Quote


  #19  
Old 08-15-2019, 02:00 PM
511 keV 511 keV is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1014756
511 keV Reputation: 10
Default

Ah, ok. Thank you :)
Reply With Quote


  #20  
Old 08-15-2019, 03:26 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,889
POST ID # = 1014764
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

I attached some pictures to help you out.

See how the PCB is notched? That's where the screw goes. The plastic just goes around the whole PCB. You should be able to screw right through it.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20190815_115501.jpg (215.9 KB, 97 views)
File Type: jpg 20190815_115918.jpg (509.1 KB, 90 views)
File Type: jpg 20190815_115921.jpg (498.0 KB, 90 views)
Reply With Quote


  #21  
Old 08-16-2019, 02:52 AM
511 keV 511 keV is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1014803
511 keV Reputation: 10
Default

That is interesting, haven't seen it before with other PSU's I've used.

Thank you for explaining it. The PSU is now installed and all is well :)
Reply With Quote


  #22  
Old 08-16-2019, 10:38 AM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,889
POST ID # = 1014847
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 511 keV View Post
That is interesting, haven't seen it before with other PSU's I've used.
Those were either cheaper or older PSUs then.

Almost all PSUs have Mylar on the bottom to prevent potential short. And recently the Mylar has been wrapped around to the edge of the PCB in order to meet the newest IEC 62368-1 requirements.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.