The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-14-2011, 10:46 AM
nvtshax0r nvtshax0r is offline
Registered User
nvtshax0r's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 502390
nvtshax0r Reputation: 10
Sad CX500 - Too Little Load or Bad Unit?

I picked up a CX500 yesterday along with a number of other components with the intention of building a low power home servers. The motherboard is an Asus P8H67-M EVO, with a Core i5-2500K Processor. The only thing attached to the motherboard is a single sata 3.0g SSD. I attached a USB CD-ROM to the machine to do the OS installation, which went fine. I have a Kill-A-Watt meter attached at the wall to track how much power I'm pulling - during the install my usage peaked at 80W and at idle i'm pulling around 26W.

After the install I removed the CD drive and rebooted. Upon displaying the login screen, the system shut down and restarted seconds later with a message from the motherboard that there was a surge detected.

Long story short - I've determined that adding additional peripherals (a usb cd drive, an internal 3.5in hard drive, etc) causes the system to stabilize. I'm concerned that I may not have enough load on the power supply to maintain consistent power output. Is this a real possibility or is it more likely that I have a faulty power supply?

Note: I have disabled the motherboard's anti-surge detection and I experience the same results, just no more message at boot time.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 05-23-2011, 07:22 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 503731
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Please test the system again without Kill-A-Watt connected. The CPU and motherboard put more than enough load on the PSU to maintain ON state. Please let us know the result!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 05-23-2011, 08:15 PM
nvtshax0r nvtshax0r is offline
Registered User
nvtshax0r's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 503739
nvtshax0r Reputation: 10
Default

I did that and had the same result.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 04-21-2017, 02:06 PM
c_user123 c_user123 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 900162
c_user123 Reputation: 10
Default

I also ran into this issue but with and AMD 5350 and ASRock AM1B-ITX AM1. I tried with 2 different CX500's. I would get to bios then try to boot and it would shut down. With another PSU the machine is working fine. Now my 100 dollar machine has a 100 dollar titanium psu while my server uses a CX500.......
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
asus, minimum load, power supply, reboot

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.