Corsair Community

Corsair Link very high CPU usage

electricalplug

Hi,

Recently I've been noticing that Corsair Link will idle around 30% CPU usage and often ramp up to 50% in some situations, playing games etc.

Is this normal? Never noticed this problem before I updated the software to the new Link 4.

Did a full, clean install of Corsair Link 4 making sure to scrub all trace of the old software.

Thanks! Any help or suggestions would be much appreciated.

1137795541_corsaircpuusage.thumb.jpg.1be7beea0d1c04942f71682f92c68c87.jpg

1817873532_corsaircpuusage2.thumb.jpg.209c9abfd5b7e69732895bc8af21f244.jpg

• Replies 94
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Is this normal?

This post is tricky to reply to as CL4 is reputedly a total rewrite from CL3. I recall CL3 doing this, but your post is the first example for CL4. Either way CL4 should not do this.

As a developer I suspect one of the 25 threads is spinning and using 25% which as you have a 4 CPU system is 100% of one CPU. Were it my system I would run PE (https://technet.microsoft.com/en-gb/sysinternals/bb896653.aspx?f=255&MSPPError=-2147217396) and look at the thread properties to see if one thread was using 25% (100% of one CPU). Ideally post a screen shot.

I suspect there is nothing much you can do to stop this happening and suspect for the issue to get resolved you would need to work directly with the CL4 developers. I advise you to log an incident via https://corsair.secure.force.com/home/home.jsp and see what they say.

It's good that you have added your PC specs to your profile (many don't), but you should also should specify which CL hardware you have. If you have multiple CL devices does the issue go away if you unplug one of the USB cables?

I've signed up to these forums with the same problem. However, my CPU usage is much lower than that of the OP. My CPU stats show CL4 is the highest hog whilst the PC is idling - I see constant activity of around <5% CPU usage.