Corsair Community

My ~7 month experience with the K70 RGB, M65 RGB and MM200 mouse pad

CodilX

Hi,

I decided to post my opinions about the K70 RGB, M65 RGB and MM200 mouse pad for holiday shoppers out there as well as others interested in these products. Reviews of product features are one thing, but using those products for a long period is another matter. I've been using both peripherals for ~7 months now, pretty much every day for 8+ hours. I received all of them early April of 2015. This post is quite long, it's a mix of a review, customer feedback and my general experience with them.

General

Out of the box the experience was very good for all products. I didn't encounter any driver issues on Windows 8(.1 I think, now on Windows 10), my BIOS handled the keyboard and mouse without problems. The CUE software and driver install was just like any other install process - no issues there. Ignoring the unintuitive CUE software design - setting up profiles wasn't too difficulty as I just prefer a solid color without any effects. Both the K70 and M65 were quickly configured to display the same blue-ish color within minutes.

The CUE software isn't the easiest to use, however I haven't yet encountered any limitations that couldn't be worked around. On the keyboard I've remaped the brightness button to switch between a profile with LEDs on, and another which has them off, so basically I just made it work as if the brightness button toggles the LEDs on and off. The windows lock key got remaped to a script that toggles my LEDs I've put underneath my monitor and around my desk. It was simple to do, and I really love the ability to modify certain keys that I don't use to function in ways that are beyond the scope of regular keyboards natively. AutoHotKey is great, but it works by intercepting key strokes, whereas using CUE you can modify these kinds of things natively. Very nice.

K70 RGB Brown