The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-25-2018, 12:11 PM
drcmclow drcmclow is offline
Registered User
drcmclow's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Germany NBG
Posts: 105
POST ID # = 981999
drcmclow Reputation: 8
Default XMAS icue + wallpaper engine

hey i would like to create me Christmas theme for the holidays...

i know how to set up my lights in cue...
but can anybody tell me if i could also change the pictures inside the icue wallpapers???

would like to have a Christmas tree with rgb lights lighting up...

any cool ideas for Christmas lighting is appriaciated...

thx

update just did this here


Last edited by drcmclow; 11-27-2018 at 08:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-25-2018, 02:35 PM
hastegag hastegag is offline
Registered User
hastegag's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Northeast US
Posts: 898
POST ID # = 982016
hastegag Reputation: 20
Default

G:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\wallpaper_engine\projects\defaultprojects\corsair_collection\

Is where mine was saved, i toyed with it a bit, but I didnt get too far.

www.smithany.com/quickidea.jpg

i replaced the corsair logo with a quick ps background and added transparent pixels but that doesn't help w/ cue lighting and i think alex k made some Christmasy color schemes or someone on the forums did in the past.

There's somewhat limited options on the wallpaper engine thing. I have never really made my own but it appears to be a very simple html with some **********'s in there which appear to handle the mouse position and other playback? I didnt really get into it as the js is minified which inherently obfuscates, but i bet you could adjust it to be even more thematic. If not, you could override the playback and take non exclusive control i bet.

it would be neat to have transparent lights on a tree or whatever that way the light can shine through. The other thing that would be cool is an animated tree that rotates in 3d (probably you can import 3d models as assets in wallpaper engine and go from there?).

Last edited by hastegag; 11-25-2018 at 02:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-26-2018, 05:20 PM
drcmclow drcmclow is offline
Registered User
drcmclow's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Germany NBG
Posts: 105
POST ID # = 982217
drcmclow Reputation: 8
Default

yes nice something like this is cool, i can do illustrator jobs for good graphics... but im not so familiar with wallpaper enginge... i need to try it out
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-26-2018, 08:45 PM
drcmclow drcmclow is offline
Registered User
drcmclow's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Germany NBG
Posts: 105
POST ID # = 982257
drcmclow Reputation: 8
Default

ok i looked at the folder u told me, i checked out the graphics and tried some simple stuff... its basically very easy... but the light effects in combination with icue is not on my leverl D i made a short video .. it dont look so nice but i do understand how to create these kind of backgrounds... will make a few nice backgrounds on the weekend... any suggestions ???

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-26-2018, 08:47 PM
drcmclow drcmclow is offline
Registered User
drcmclow's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Germany NBG
Posts: 105
POST ID # = 982258
drcmclow Reputation: 8
Default

an option to turn the icue integration off would be nice also because i have mostly static xmas lights LOL i will make a video on the weekend...
also i will upload my xmas profile... it includes LL fans, strafe keyboard, dark core mouse , mm800 mousepad and void pro, and 10 strips (commander pro and node pro)

edit i noticed when icue is runnning before wallpaper engine is started its working fine... but when wallpaper engine is started before icue the integration dont work... this is good for me LOL

Last edited by drcmclow; 11-26-2018 at 09:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-26-2018, 11:03 PM
hastegag hastegag is offline
Registered User
hastegag's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Northeast US
Posts: 898
POST ID # = 982268
hastegag Reputation: 20
Default

yeah when Icue is not running first, the SDK handshake will fail and the wallpaper engine wont know to try again to restart the icue integration effects.

Nice job on the candy cane, I assume just white with transparent / gamut hatching inside?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-27-2018, 12:02 AM
drcmclow drcmclow is offline
Registered User
drcmclow's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Germany NBG
Posts: 105
POST ID # = 982271
drcmclow Reputation: 8
Default

there is a normal picture and a mask picture in a subfolder... the lightning only is visible on the mask for venegance effect! its diffrent on the brick wall...
u need to create a picture with transparent spots, and then these exact spots are used for the mask.

i was wondering why dont icue team add one more device for example called "SCREEN"
with the options
- to activate or deactivate wallpaper engine for eacht profile
- to set lighting mode for wallpaper for each profiel (because only rainbow is boring :D)
- and maybe activate ambilight (for node pro or commander pro)

this would also makes alot of sense if they would finaly come up with a ambilight solution for the commander pro and node pro (basically their led strips)...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.