The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-23-2018, 12:49 PM
Vain.3805 Vain.3805 is offline
Registered User
Vain.3805's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 973891
Vain.3805 Reputation: 10
Question iCUE Supplants and Replaces Default Profiles and Settings on Whim

Occasionally I restart my computer. I know, shocker, but it happens. iCUE is supposed to start when the machine starts, but sometimes it will be unresponsive.
So I do the age old #1 technical fix-it. I shut down iCue (usually have to force it with task manager as the tray icon interaction yields no results even when it allows me to click and select an option) and I turn it back on.

Every single time it starts up this way (probably every time, but I only pay attention when it's not doing its job) it creates 3 or 4 new profiles and a new DPI setting which... why would it need to do that last one since the DPI setting has multiple options within in it... Moving on.

I finally stopped it completely screwing my DPI settings by changing my preferred DPI to the first preset in the DPI list. Then I had to change it to the first preset in the stupid new DPI settings it kept installing. Now it installs yet another new DPI setting and makes that my default!

The Profile setting itself it seems to be slightly less idiotic about since it just adds three or four that I will never use because I have my own custom profile instead but doesn't otherwise seem to change the default there.

I've checked Google, it just pops up the entire thread list from the iCUE Profiles subforum. Technical Support doesn't seem to have a function for iCUE itself, just for various products (I have a refurbished 17-button light up mouse and an ancient headset that has a volume up/down and mute and no integration with iCUE, and an even older USB stick that's... somewhere, I'm sure). Nothing that would assist with the GUI functions and insistence to install new profiles as though this were the first time iCUE has ever been turned on in the history of this computer.

I suppose I should be grateful it's not deleting my profiles or rewriting their settings.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-23-2018, 03:10 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,535
POST ID # = 973901
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Next time this happens, get the logs and post them for the dev team. ;)
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-24-2018, 09:54 AM
Vain.3805 Vain.3805 is offline
Registered User
Vain.3805's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 974007
Vain.3805 Reputation: 10
Default

I've not removed any logs or restarted since it last happened. Where might I direct said logs if they're still there?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-25-2018, 11:11 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,535
POST ID # = 974118
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Go to Settings. There's a button for exporting the log files.

That said, they get large. Digging through them to find what was going on when it happened is difficult. Which is why I suggested that you get a log file immediately after it happens. That way, they know where to look in the log file.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bug, error, flaw, glitch

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.