The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-22-2016, 11:42 AM
Godevil Godevil is offline
Registered User
Godevil's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 838482
Godevil Reputation: 10
Default Purchasing DDR4 For New Build - advice?

I fell in love with the new Asus ROG Maximus VIII Formula motherboard and also wanted to use my Samsung Pro 950 to it's full potential.

I've bought everything I need so far, except the memory. I'm having trouble deciding on what to buy. I know I want Corsair Platinum because it's just as sexy as the motherboard. But what ones? The 64GB is kind of overkill, but I can afford it.

CMD64GX4M4B2800C14 - 4x64GB / 2800 mhz / c14 - $519.99
CMD64GX4M4B3000C15 - 4x64GB / 3000 mhz / c15 - $524.99

The two options below I'm a little confused about:

CMD32GX4M4A2400C14 - 4x32GB / 2400 mhz / c14 - $299.99
CMD32GX4M4B2400C10 - 4x32GB / 2400 mhz / c10 - $289.99

What makes the second one cost less but also have lower latency?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 02-22-2016, 03:06 PM
Corsair Henry's Avatar
Corsair Henry Corsair Henry is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Henry's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Corsair HQ
Posts: 1,403
POST ID # = 838513
Corsair Henry Reputation: 14
Default

CMD32GX4M4A2400C14 spec to run at 1.2V = $299.99

CMD32GX4M4B2400C10 spec to run at 1.35V = $289.99

Not sure if having a lower voltage is more important for you or lower latency. If i was in your shoes, I'd get the C10 for the price.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 02-22-2016, 05:14 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,188
POST ID # = 838554
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

Don't go for 64GB unless you actually need it. It is more difficult to run at higher frequencies and may limit your overclock options in other areas. 32GB may still require some work at 3000+ MHz.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 02-23-2016, 02:01 PM
Godevil Godevil is offline
Registered User
Godevil's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 838724
Godevil Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks guys... though I found some other x4 memory kits that come with the airflow LED fans which are about a $45 value each.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820233737

4 x 8GB - 3000 mhz - c15 - $309

Comes with x2 Airflow LED fans. Which if I'm right, only one with fit on top of 4 memory sticks, right? So that means I can use one for my rig, and one on my niece's(I'm giving my old setup to her for her birthday.)
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 02-23-2016, 07:55 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,188
POST ID # = 838805
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

Yes, you will have a spare. However, I am a little concerned about your ability to clip it on the Maximus VIII. The plastic shielding may interfere with your ability to secure it. It looks like the lower end is surrounded on 3 sides. I don't have the board, so this is speculation, but I also have two memory fans in box by my desk.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 02-24-2016, 01:07 AM
Godevil Godevil is offline
Registered User
Godevil's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 838831
Godevil Reputation: 10
Default

Yeah. I was concerned about that too at first, but I came across a video of someone using the airflow fans on that motherboard. Looks like they will fit... Though now it comes down to 8gb c10 2400 vs 8gb c15 3000... Lol. Memory is the last part I need for this build. Everything else was so easy to decide on.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 02-24-2016, 08:26 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,188
POST ID # = 838904
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

C10 is a nice little number. While possible, it might take some dedicated work to get the C15-3000 kit down to C10 at that speed. Given some of the issues at 3000+ on Z170, I would be tempted for take the C10 now if you don't need the bandwidth. If you do need it, you can always run the 3000 kit at C13-2666 or C14-2800 until Asus gets their BIOS issues straightened out.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 02-24-2016, 10:51 AM
Godevil Godevil is offline
Registered User
Godevil's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 838916
Godevil Reputation: 10
Default

I appreciate your help. Thank you.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 02-25-2016, 12:57 PM
Godevil Godevil is offline
Registered User
Godevil's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 839171
Godevil Reputation: 10
Default

Just giving an update on my decision. I found a very nice deal for the C15 3000mhz 2x8gb set and purchased 2 of them. They were marked down from $129.99 to $109.99 ... and also have a $5 dollar off coupon that ends today. So in total I got a full set for $209.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...tem=20-233-849

Also another thing that helped make my decision is that people in the reviews said they worked flawlessly with the motherboard I'm using. Win. Thanks again for your help guys!
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 02-25-2016, 03:25 PM
Corsair Henry's Avatar
Corsair Henry Corsair Henry is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Henry's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Corsair HQ
Posts: 1,403
POST ID # = 839198
Corsair Henry Reputation: 14
Default

That is a steal! Thanks for the update
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.