The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 26 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-29-2013, 08:53 PM
nmarks nmarks is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 643765
nmarks Reputation: 10
Default Corsair Vengeance 1500 volume WAY too loud

Hey guys,

I have just bought the corsair vengeance 1500 headset and the volume is way too loud. Anything above 1% volume is just ear splitting.

I've tried reinstalling the drivers (latest from the website, 2.0.7) and I've disabled my onboard sound, tried all different USB ports on my computer and I just can't figure out what the problem is :(

I would really like more control over my volume, at the moment I'm stuck using this:
Attached Images
File Type: png asdsdasd.png (170.3 KB, 4135 views)
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 03-29-2013, 09:16 PM
shankly1985 shankly1985 is offline
Registered User
shankly1985's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 145
POST ID # = 643769
shankly1985 Reputation: 10
Default

Right click speaker bottom Right... Playback Devices... Right Click Headset and click Properties... Click Enhancements... have a play around with Settings in there.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 03-30-2013, 10:15 AM
Phreec Phreec is offline
Registered User
Phreec's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 643839
Phreec Reputation: 10
Default

I also have this problem. This renders the volume adjusting buttons almost useless since going above 1% isn't needed and anything below that is dead silence.

All Windows (7 64-bit) enhancements are disabled and using the newest 2.0.7 drivers on my 1500.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 03-30-2013, 05:46 PM
KHdV KHdV is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 643907
KHdV Reputation: 10
Default

I have the same problem here as discribed above. The headset sound is VERY loud and because of that not good to adjust.

hopefully there is a solution for this issue
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 03-31-2013, 04:42 AM
Slowari Slowari is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 643968
Slowari Reputation: 10
Default

Install previous 1.1 drivers for now. They are lookin in the issue.


"Version 1.1 headset drivers are now available for the HS1 and Vengeance 1500 gaming headsets. These drivers are compatible with all Windows operating systems.

IMPORTANT NOTE: Be sure to follow these steps when installing the new driver:
Remove the current Corsair headset driver
Restart Windows
Install the new ver 1.1 driver
Restart Windows.

*PLEASE NOTE THAT YOU WILL LOSE ANY SAVED EQUALIZER PROFILES AS A RESULT OF UPGRADING*"

Win 8 installation notes for 1.1 driver! http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=111795

http://www.corsair.com/en/media/cms/...iver_1-1_1.exe

Last edited by Slowari; 03-31-2013 at 06:50 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 04-08-2013, 08:58 AM
low351 low351 is offline
Registered User
low351's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 645557
low351 Reputation: 10
Default

I have the same issue, I have to keep the volume way way down. I love corsair products but I nearly returned my 1500s because when I first connected them and tried them with a game the shotgun sounded like someone blowing a raspberry. It made me feel like I'd made a mistake in buying them over my old analog set which were okay, I just wanted the surround for a better experience.

I have Win8 PRO 64-bit. I didn't have any issue, at least that I know of installing the 1.1 driver but I didn't see a console until I grabbed the 2.0.7 download from the Vengeance 2000 page. Is that why you need to run the 1.1 install in compatibility mode? When I run the installation it shows all the files being installed, but when it's done I am not sure what happened.

I get the feeling that the initial settings are too high, it's driven to the point of clipping. I hope that a patch comes out.

Incidentally, how do I verify that it's in fact using the v1.1 driver. When I check in the device properties it shows me 1.0.0.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 04-08-2013, 12:31 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 645591
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

You can check to see what version of the software you have by clicking on the "i" button on the upper right of the software window.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 04-09-2013, 04:58 AM
Sinistercr0c Sinistercr0c is offline
Registered User
Sinistercr0c's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 19
POST ID # = 645772
Sinistercr0c Reputation: 12
Default

Having recently purchased the 1500 (which are fantastic by the way) I also have this issue. I loaded the 2.0.7 driver before it was pulled and I understand Corsair are looking into this (hence having pulled the driver from the download section of the 1500's webpage).

@RAM GUY - I suspect its a case of being patient, but a status update wouldn't go amiss. Working in a consumer environment I know that customers appreciate the regular provision of information, even if its only to say 'we're still looking into it'. Its amazing how long people are prepared to wait even when there is nothing to update them with, as long as you keep them informed that your still looking....
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 04-09-2013, 08:28 AM
low351 low351 is offline
Registered User
low351's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 645791
low351 Reputation: 10
Default

Last night I attached my 1500s to my Win7 laptop, tried the v1.1 drivers, no issues with sound level or quality and I saw that my installation of v1.1 on Win8 was in fact halting abruptly because this time on Win7 it completed. Since I didn't know what to expect on Win8 I didn't realize it didn't install. Still however, the console utility doesn't run automatically after install and doesn't seem to sit in the systray, that could be normal behavior I don't know.

In any case after upgrading to the 2.0.7 version, on the same Win7 laptop, it does sit in the systray and launch after install, plus there is no issue with the volume. Unfortunately I don't have the luxury of putting Windows 7 on my Gaming PC, it was a nice $30 upgrade to Win8 Pro from Vista so I have no Win7 license for it. So I'll have to keep the volume low, which works fine but doesn't give me much more than two stops of control before it starts clipping.

@Sinistercr0c Interesting that they had the 2.0.7 driver on the Vengeance 1500 page and pulled it. I just thought they omitted it and I grabbed it from the Vengeance 2000 page. They should have left a note about that, so can I assume that officially the v1.1 driver is the only supported driver at the moment for Win8? I'll have to try installing it with the compatibility workaround and see if that cures the sound volume issue.

Last edited by low351; 04-09-2013 at 08:32 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 04-09-2013, 02:04 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 645846
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

We are working as fast as possible on an update. That's all I can share at the moment.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 04-09-2013, 03:11 PM
Sinistercr0c Sinistercr0c is offline
Registered User
Sinistercr0c's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 19
POST ID # = 645858
Sinistercr0c Reputation: 12
Default

And thats all I (and many others) needed to hear...many thanks.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 04-10-2013, 03:21 AM
FixTheDrivers FixTheDrivers is offline
Registered User
FixTheDrivers's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 645954
FixTheDrivers Reputation: 10
Default

I usually fix this problem by changing the Source Type and EQ a few times and lowering all of them to below 0dB. (I just used Audiophile 1 or 2 and lowered each one several times to match, but at a lower sound).

So it's like:
1. turn on computer, test sound (it doesn't always do this problem)
2. if really loud, change source type to 5.1 or 2.0 (since I use 7.1) then back again.
3. change to a different EQ preset a few times.
4. test sound again. If it still doesn't work, move a single EQ slider thing up or down.

The always fixes it for me. Now putting it up to 50%+ volume is like the 1% it was at. I guess doing all that and moving the slider finally updates the program to what settings I actually have it on :/
Sidenote: surround sound doesn't seem to affect it.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 04-10-2013, 09:26 AM
Xcalibur2k Xcalibur2k is offline
Registered User
Xcalibur2k's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 645991
Xcalibur2k Reputation: 10
Default

This morning I tried playing around with fixing this, the best solution I found was to to set my EQ settings into the negative. Reversed the setting to -15db and below. Now I have a good volume range from 1% all the way to 100% without it blowing out my eardrums.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 04-15-2013, 05:59 PM
FixTheDrivers FixTheDrivers is offline
Registered User
FixTheDrivers's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 647201
FixTheDrivers Reputation: 10
Default

I take back what I said.

I recently formatted my computer. Installed the 2.0.7 drivers (not 1.1) because I think they're better than the old ones.

As before the volume is really loud. By default the headset is so loud, I can hear the Windows logon sound like I have normal desktop speakers. I feel like they will bust if I forget to lower the sound and play some music or a random video. I just realized, the loudness is comparable to the default Windows drivers (i.e. 2% volume is too loud).

I said before, you need to change the settings in the control panel to 'update' the sound. This worked for me for a while. Now, suddenly, the volume is very loud like before. Without changing any settings and only adjusting the volume like normal, the sound increases back to its 2% is too loud.

I kept trying my own method, which had always worked, to reduce the default loud sound... It never worked. What did work though was... Corsair V2000 Distortion Workaround thread. Turning on Bass Management reduced the overall, overbearing sound. Basically: 2% -> 25% max volume for me. Maybe this will help someone else who wants to use 2.0.7 drivers while we all wait for the next drivers update to never be released. While you guys are at it, remove the flashing mute button. It's so very annoying. Keep it solid red.

TL;DR this guy was right
Quote:
Originally Posted by shankly1985 View Post
Right click speaker bottom Right... Playback Devices... Right Click Headset and click Properties... Click Enhancements... have a play around with Settings in there.

Last edited by FixTheDrivers; 04-15-2013 at 06:06 PM. Reason: red only.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 04-17-2013, 09:26 AM
low351 low351 is offline
Registered User
low351's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 647552
low351 Reputation: 10
Default

I went back to the v1.1 drivers on my Win 8 Pro 64-bit rig, installed using win7 compatibility with administrative rights and they work fine.

Tip for Teamspeak3 users, use the playback setting for mono to center speakers it makes voices in comms sound natural as they did with my old analog headset.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.