The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 6 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-27-2013, 05:29 AM
Sixie Sixie is offline
Registered User
Sixie's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 636503
Sixie Reputation: 10
Default H100i Not detected after FW Upgrade 1.05

In response to RAMGUY's Post: Firmware update H80i/H100i Coolers F/W Ver 1.05

I have upgraded the firmware with the use of the USB Dongle. (prior to this, the H100i is connected to the Link Commander 2 v2.0.6).

So after upgrading, and putting it back to the link cable attached to the commander, the commander can no longer detect the H100i.

I have restarted the services, rebooted, reinstalled CorsairLink2 dashboard, reseated/relocated the cables. none worked.

USB Dongle works OK, the Dash detects it fine. but now the commander cant see it after the upgrade.

So atm.. I am forced to use another USB header slot just for a cooler....
Also not to mention that my CorsairLINK2 2.2.0 dashboard constantly crashes everytime i open the controlpanel (runs fine when its on the BG)

Last edited by Sixie; 02-27-2013 at 05:38 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 02-27-2013, 07:58 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 636530
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

That is a known issue. I think a software update may fix the detection issue.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 02-27-2013, 08:26 AM
Sixie Sixie is offline
Registered User
Sixie's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 636538
Sixie Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasted View Post
That is a known issue. I think a software update may fix the detection issue.

well thats the thing tho... any software update can fix any issue.. as long as its addressed, but corsair, especially with the LINK products are known to have bad reputation in terms of software/firmware and delivering any type of fix, and when a fix is delivered, it presents a new type of problem.

the firmware fixed the grinding noise on the pump, but hey its not detectable by the commander anymore
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 02-27-2013, 04:53 PM
Felly Felly is offline
Registered User
Felly's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 636616
Felly Reputation: 10
Default

When you say "with the use of the USB dongle", do you mean the dongle that comes with an AXxxxi power supply? How do you connect the H80i to it?
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 02-27-2013, 11:40 PM
TwispF4 TwispF4 is offline
Registered User
TwispF4's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 19
POST ID # = 636708
TwispF4 Reputation: 10
Default

USB Dongle = USB Cable that comes with the H100i

I just want to know why it takes so long to make things just work. I completely understand that I am not at all a skilled engineer and I don't know what needs to be done, and how hard or easy a software tweak this is, but it's kind of annoying have every new update barely being compatible.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 02-28-2013, 01:15 AM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 636722
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

I am sorry but did you follow the instructions to flash the firmware? If not then you will have to request an RMA so we can replace the unit.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 02-28-2013, 03:27 AM
Felly Felly is offline
Registered User
Felly's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 636744
Felly Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks TwispF4
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 02-28-2013, 07:23 AM
Sixie Sixie is offline
Registered User
Sixie's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 636766
Sixie Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
I am sorry but did you follow the instructions to flash the firmware? If not then you will have to request an RMA so we can replace the unit.
I have followed your instructions to the details.

I short, the steps i did was, I restored my CorsairLink2 Dash profiles to Default settings, then disconnect the link cable from commander to the H100i.

connected the USB Dongle that came along with the H100i a few seconds later this is rediscovered by the dashboard, meaning it works fine, all this was still in v1.04

I rebooted for the sake of it, after a quick reboot, i upgraded the firmware through the Dash and finds the checksum of the firmware fine and proceeded with the upgrade, upgrade was successful, H100i still detectable by Dashboard as it was still on USB. i disconnected the USB and reconnected it on the link cable to the commander. no detected

did a reboot, changed channel, cables checked fine (replaced it even), all any sane IT person would do to try and trouble shoot, alas no joy from it....

reconnected the USB and disconnected the link, that works fine.

RMAing the H100i would be insane as this will be the 3rd time :p for me to RMA a H100i

1st RMA was sorta the same issue, but on previous versions
2nd was Grinding Noise from the pump (but corsair didnt have solution at the time) 1.04 sorta solved this afterwards but then the Fans started to have the grinding noise when on Quiet mode (not so quiet) but when put on Performance, fans are great... no noise(atleast no wierd noise)

so having it RMA now means 3rd time...
tbh with you RAMGUY dont think the unit is broken or defective, its just really the firmware as well as the Dashboard.

do u still think I should RMA?
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 03-13-2013, 09:13 AM
Sixie Sixie is offline
Registered User
Sixie's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 639913
Sixie Reputation: 10
Default

So.. I Deleted all Profiles and uninstalled the Corsair Link Software and installed the latest version 2.3.4816

I say the software at the very least isnt crashing for me anymore, so kudos to Corsair on that one, However its still does not see my H100i that was updated to 1.05.

I know the H100i is working as its being detected when I use the USB Dongle provided with it, and I thought im gonna try to reflash it with 1.05, shutdown, and switch the cable to the link cable that is connected to the commander, i have tried using another cable, different channels, still no go :(

I dont think the unit is broken though... so RMA it again is just being silly as that would mean offline PC... as I have no current temp replacement for it.

Just too bad Corsair does not do Advanced RMA
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 03-13-2013, 09:35 AM
Sixie Sixie is offline
Registered User
Sixie's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 639915
Sixie Reputation: 10
Default

Is there a way to Downgrade the firmware to 1.04?
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 03-13-2013, 09:50 AM
Sixie Sixie is offline
Registered User
Sixie's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 639919
Sixie Reputation: 10
Default

OK... to prove a point to RAM GUY...

I managed to find a local copy of FW 1.04 reflashed it (so downgraded it from 1.05 to 1.04) using the USB Dongle.

Rebooted, replug the Link Cable from the commander, instantly it recognizes it... so RMA the unit has no point as like I said before, its not broken, the Firmware + Software arent optimized together.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 03-13-2013, 01:21 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 639969
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Since you have a Link Commander, have you tried by passing it and connect your cooler directly to the USB header on your MB?

I agree with you, I don't think the cooler is faulty, there is something that's causing your cooler not to get detected when using 2.3. I'll run this with our engineering team.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 03-13-2013, 01:50 PM
Sixie Sixie is offline
Registered User
Sixie's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 639988
Sixie Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
Since you have a Link Commander, have you tried by passing it and connect your cooler directly to the USB header on your MB?

I agree with you, I don't think the cooler is faulty, there is something that's causing your cooler not to get detected when using 2.3. I'll run this with our engineering team.


The way My system is set up is as follow

The Link Commander is directly connected on one of my USB header (on the motherboard)

The using Channel 1 I have my Light Node, Channel 2 my Cooling Node then as for 3 to 8, they are all free which was previously being used by my H100i

Since I still had abit of grinding noise on the pump, I thought to upgrade the Firmware from 1.04 to .05 however It can only be done through the USB Dongle, so I disconnected the link cable (channel3) and connected the H100i with the USB on another Header directly.

from here on, Commander is detecting my Light/Cooling node and the Dashboard detects the H100i as a USB

Flashed the 1.05 firmware, and reconnecting it on the Link Commander (removing Dongle) from here on out, it does not get detected what ever channel I use.

So I basically just reverted it back to how it was, only difference now is the Dashboard version.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 03-14-2013, 06:23 AM
Darkwing Darkwing is offline
Registered User
Darkwing's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 94
POST ID # = 640166
Darkwing Reputation: 10
Default

several people are reporting that H100i with FW 1.05 does not get detected when using 2.3.

Connecting the H100i directly to motherboard with USB dongle does work. But of course it should work when connected to the commander.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 04-21-2013, 07:08 AM
ZioZeb ZioZeb is offline
Registered User
ZioZeb's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 44
POST ID # = 648288
ZioZeb Reputation: 10
Default

Hi guys!
I have the same problem. Today i have replaced the stock fans with the new pwm fans, and update firmware 1.0.5. After this operation, H100i is not detected from the corsair link commander.
What do u reccomend to do?
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.