The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 18 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-03-2012, 02:30 AM
StaticShock5 StaticShock5 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 551705
StaticShock5 Reputation: 10
Default People can hear what is going through my headset

Ok, so for a while now, people have been able to hear anything that goes through my headset. I can lower the sound, but they still hear it. I even recently muted my mic, and they could still hear my music. I am using the Gaming Audio Series™ HS1A Gaming Headset. I am using Windows 7. The problem happens in every chat program I have (skype, vent, mumble). I have done some research and the issue seems to be in my system sound settings, but I can't be sure. Any assistance would be greatly appreciative.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 01-03-2012, 01:47 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 551807
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

How are you muting your mic?
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 01-03-2012, 05:33 PM
StaticShock5 StaticShock5 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 551862
StaticShock5 Reputation: 10
Default

Its a switch on the volume control that come with the headset.

When I mute my mic, people can't hear me speak anymore, but they can still what ever I'm hearing.

Last edited by StaticShock5; 01-03-2012 at 05:49 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 01-03-2012, 05:59 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 551869
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Are you able to confirm this issue happens on another computer?

Also what voice chat program are you using?
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 01-03-2012, 06:06 PM
StaticShock5 StaticShock5 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 551875
StaticShock5 Reputation: 10
Default

I haven't tested it on another computer, but i haven't touched the audio settings on any of my computers, if its the computer, then it would happen else where as well. But I'll check. I posted what programs I use in the OP. It happens on all of them, so I highly doubt its the programs.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 01-03-2012, 07:38 PM
StaticShock5 StaticShock5 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 551911
StaticShock5 Reputation: 10
Default

Alright, I tested it on another computer as well, and it did NOT happen. So the issue is not the head phones, and its with my current computer. The sound was loud and clear, almost as if it was being transferred through both my mic and the headphones.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 01-04-2012, 01:06 PM
StaticShock5 StaticShock5 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 552068
StaticShock5 Reputation: 10
Default

Bump...I would like to get help with this asap.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 01-04-2012, 01:36 PM
eslu eslu is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 552081
eslu Reputation: 10
Default

Sounds like one of your soundcard(s) drivers are messing up with your microphone.
Because usually Windows 7 only let you choose on specific recording device at the time. The same goes for applications like Ventrilo and Teamspeak.
So it should basicly, be impossible to hear your music if you've choosen microphone and muted it.

I would suggest you to uninstall all the soundcard drivers, reboot and attempt to reinstall. (Get the last ones, from internet)
If that doesn't work, i think you would have to reinstall Windows.

Last edited by eslu; 01-04-2012 at 01:48 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 01-04-2012, 11:20 PM
StaticShock5 StaticShock5 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 552216
StaticShock5 Reputation: 10
Default

....I don't have a sound card. My sound is on board. And reinstalling my OS is not the right path. Might fix it, but there should be a shorter way to do it
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 01-05-2012, 04:49 PM
eslu eslu is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 552394
eslu Reputation: 10
Default

You do realize, that onboard "sound/soundcard/chip" also has its own drivers? (Often Realtek)
And i would also like to mention, troubleshooting software (if their drivers aren't at fault) isn't really a Corsair problem.
Troubleshooting it is also very hard, because there could be so many reasons to the cause, there aren't any tools saying "oh hey, your X name program is causing issues"

Last edited by eslu; 01-05-2012 at 04:52 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 01-15-2012, 01:32 PM
Dims Dims is offline
Registered User
Dims's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 143
POST ID # = 554951
Dims Reputation: 5
Default

If your using front panel jacks try using the rear ones to see if they can still hear anything your listening to when you talk.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 01-24-2012, 06:59 PM
ng0 ng0 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 557222
ng0 Reputation: 10
Default

I've had this problem with previous headsets and I am using on board sound card, but when I use a usb sound card no one can hear what is going on through my headset
Thats why i bought the Corsair 1500s
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 01-24-2012, 08:00 PM
Garvin Garvin is offline
Registered User
Garvin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Leominster, Massachusetts
Posts: 2,035
POST ID # = 557227
Garvin Reputation: 10
Default

Sounds to me like you have two sound drivers running. R-click the speaker icon in the bottom right system tray. L-click playback devices. If your not running digital desktop speakers(either through digital coax or fiber optic) and/or digital speakers integrated into a monitor (HDMI), there should only be one device (probably Realtech or Via) in the list labeled as the default, entitled "Speakers", under the Playback tab. If there's more than one, then that's probably what's causing the problem. It's hard to give specific info; since you forgot to fill in your system specifications.
__________________
temp. sig: standard RAM module timings example list, ala
4-4-4-12 =
CL-tRCD-tRP-tRAS=
CAS latency - RAS to CAS Delay - RAS Precharge - Active to Precharge Delay(also called Active Precharge delay and RAS Active time)
http://www.memtest.org/

Last edited by Garvin; 01-24-2012 at 08:10 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 08-18-2014, 04:40 PM
Curator1 Curator1 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 723423
Curator1 Reputation: 10
Default Problem

I have basically the same problem and I use the Corsair Raptor headset and my problem is that my friends can't hear me on skype even while it's not muted. They can hear my gameplay though and cannot hear me at all. Please help
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 08-18-2014, 05:30 PM
thenosbod's Avatar
thenosbod thenosbod is offline
Homo sapien
thenosbod's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Earth UK
Posts: 565
POST ID # = 723429
thenosbod Reputation: 60
Default

As your web cam got a built in mic?
__________________
I do not work for Corsair and I am not an official forum helper.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.