The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-08-2019, 08:20 PM
ifixit ifixit is offline
MS OEM Royalty Engineer
ifixit's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: On Planet Hell
Posts: 20
POST ID # = 993258
ifixit Reputation: 10
Default Read this warning corsair~!

Your about to get hundreds of people spam here because Ver 3.12 of iCUE Reboots to a blue screen message "inaccessible boot device."

Consider yourselves warned. I had a restore point. Will happen upgrading in ICUE and fully installing from installer.

Not sure if hardware specific..but lucky i had a restore point.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-08-2019, 08:24 PM
Corsair Calico Jack's Avatar
Corsair Calico Jack Corsair Calico Jack is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 578
POST ID # = 993261
Corsair Calico Jack Reputation: 10
Default

This happens because of a preinstalled USB driver being installed and conflicting with the iCUE driver. The two drivers can't work together, they don't launch, causes a boot loop.

Weirdly enough, it tends to be associated with an older CD/DVD drives that are using a fairly obnoxious driver. If you have one connected, try removing it.

Otherwise, we would suggest making sure that your computer's Antivirus/Firewall software is turned off while iCUE is installing to prevent the software from quarantining necessary installation files.

You can also use this MSI installer tool to help correct a lot of issues caused by .msi files: https://support.microsoft.com/en-ca/...led-or-removed
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-08-2019, 08:27 PM
ifixit ifixit is offline
MS OEM Royalty Engineer
ifixit's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: On Planet Hell
Posts: 20
POST ID # = 993262
ifixit Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Calico Jack View Post
This happens because of a preinstalled USB driver being installed and conflicting with the iCUE driver. The two drivers can't work together, they don't launch, causes a boot loop.

Weirdly enough, it tends to be associated with an older CD/DVD drives that are using a fairly obnoxious driver. If you have one connected, try removing it.

Otherwise, we would suggest making sure that your computer's Antivirus/Firewall software is turned off while iCUE is installing to prevent the software from quarantining necessary installation files.

You can also use this MSI installer tool to help correct a lot of issues caused by .msi files: https://support.microsoft.com/en-ca/...led-or-removed

Yeah ok, DVD/CD less system
Not running AV

PS been using icue fine till this particular version.

Heed my warning troubles coming,
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-09-2019, 01:11 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,526
POST ID # = 993291
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Just because it happens to you doesn't mean that it's widespread. I'm running on several machines and haven't seen that and no one on the community beta team has seen it either. That's a larger sample with no issues than your single system.

So perhaps you should take Corsair Calico Jack's suggestion to heart and look and see if there's something conflicting on your system rather than coming in here like Chicken Little.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-09-2019, 06:35 PM
Dayglorange's Avatar
Dayglorange Dayglorange is offline
Registered User
Dayglorange's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 27
POST ID # = 993398
Dayglorange Reputation: 10
Default

Yeah, I just updated to the latest version as well, and had zero problems. I'm running a tower with at least a 4 year old if not more disc drive, and always running AV software - why would you ever connect a computer to the internet and NOT have AV?! Either way, I have had troubles with iCUE in the past but this update was probably the smoothest so far.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-09-2019, 07:33 PM
Troyhe98 Troyhe98 is offline
Registered User
Troyhe98's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 27
POST ID # = 993403
Troyhe98 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ifixit View Post
Your about to get hundreds of people spam here because Ver 3.12 of iCUE Reboots to a blue screen message "inaccessible boot device."

Consider yourselves warned. I had a restore point. Will happen upgrading in ICUE and fully installing from installer.

Not sure if hardware specific..but lucky i had a restore point.
Yeah, haven't had this occur either (not saying it didn't happen to you). To give such an apocalyptic warning made this sound like it was a widespread issue...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-09-2019, 10:12 PM
RiverM RiverM is offline
Registered User
RiverM's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 45
POST ID # = 993418
RiverM Reputation: 10
Default

I have some of the same hardware and have not had any boot problem, only the recurring problem of Vengeance RGP Pro RAM not showing in iCUE. Below is the hardware and drivers I'm using and some UEFI settings I tested a moment ago to try and create your situation; thankfully no dice.

I too have a 2700X and 970 EVO 500GB NVMe boot drive (Samsung NVMe Controller driver, 3.0.0.1802), 2TB of SSDs and 4TB of HDDs, (AMD Virtualized AHCI driver for StoreMi, 11.5.35.252, Microsoft Storage Spaces controller driver), AHCI mode, no RAID setup, Vengeance RGB Pro (3000, 2X8), H115i Pro AIO, 3X LL120 fans but ASUS ROG STRIX X470-F motherboard and have not had any boot problems. Internal USB 2.0 ports used by H115i Pro and Lighting Node Pro, External USB ports connected to two pairs of peripherals, DAC/headset, mouse mat, DS4 (AMD, ASMedia, Corsair and Windows USB drivers). I'm running all the latest versions of BIOS, drivers and Windows 10 Pro. I even tested the following UEFI/BIOS settings and all worked: Normal boot, fast boot, CSM enabled, CSM disabled (UEFI, Windows secure boot enabled), USB legacy and AHCI handoff enabled or disabled.

All in an Obsidian 500D too, so it's definitely not the case

Last edited by RiverM; 02-09-2019 at 10:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-09-2019, 11:21 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,526
POST ID # = 993419
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RiverM View Post
I have some of the same hardware and have not had any boot problem, only the recurring problem of Vengeance RGP Pro RAM not showing in iCUE. Below is the hardware and drivers I'm using and some UEFI settings I tested a moment ago to try and create your situation; thankfully no dice.

I too have a 2700X and 970 EVO 500GB NVMe boot drive (Samsung NVMe Controller driver, 3.0.0.1802), 2TB of SSDs and 4TB of HDDs, (AMD Virtualized AHCI driver for StoreMi, 11.5.35.252, Microsoft Storage Spaces controller driver), AHCI mode, no RAID setup, Vengeance RGB Pro (3000, 2X8), H115i Pro AIO, 3X LL120 fans but ASUS ROG STRIX X470-F motherboard and have not had any boot problems. Internal USB 2.0 ports used by H115i Pro and Lighting Node Pro, External USB ports connected to two pairs of peripherals, DAC/headset, mouse mat, DS4 (AMD, ASMedia, Corsair and Windows USB drivers). I'm running all the latest versions of BIOS, drivers and Windows 10 Pro. I even tested the following UEFI/BIOS settings and all worked: Normal boot, fast boot, CSM enabled, CSM disabled (UEFI, Windows secure boot enabled), USB legacy and AHCI handoff enabled or disabled.

All in an Obsidian 500D too, so it's definitely not the case
You're likely better off creating a new thread for your issue rather than jumping on this one.

That said, there have been reports of issues specifically with Asus Ryzen motherboards and a particular BIOS release. Going back to an earlier BIOS has solved issues for many folks.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-09-2019, 11:48 PM
RiverM RiverM is offline
Registered User
RiverM's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 45
POST ID # = 993424
RiverM Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
You're likely better off creating a new thread for your issue rather than jumping on this one.

That said, there have been reports of issues specifically with Asus Ryzen motherboards and a particular BIOS release. Going back to an earlier BIOS has solved issues for many folks.
I've already posted about the RAM issue in another thread and about a temporary fix with reverting first to an older BIOS for that particular board. I was replying to the OP here since I have the same boot drive and chipset and have heard of numerous boot problems with X470 after the OS install when not installing Samsung's driver.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-10-2019, 12:12 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,526
POST ID # = 993427
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RiverM View Post
I've already posted about the RAM issue in another thread and about a temporary fix with reverting first to an older BIOS for that particular board. I was replying to the OP here since I have the same boot drive and chipset and have heard of numerous boot problems with X470 after the OS install when not installing Samsung's driver.
Ah ... OK, I missed that. There seem to be numerous issues with X470 ... period.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-10-2019, 10:26 AM
Fistsojustice Fistsojustice is offline
Registered User
Fistsojustice's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 993488
Fistsojustice Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
Ah ... OK, I missed that. There seem to be numerous issues with X470 ... period.
NO. Your software is garbage. Its well documented here.
Stop blaming your customers for your crap software. Telling people to roll back their bios ? REALLY? Its not them ,its YOU.
Unbelievable. Id fire you and your staff if it were up to me. This has been going on for years.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-10-2019, 12:40 PM
ifixit ifixit is offline
MS OEM Royalty Engineer
ifixit's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: On Planet Hell
Posts: 20
POST ID # = 993500
ifixit Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
Just because it happens to you doesn't mean that it's widespread. I'm running on several machines and haven't seen that and no one on the community beta team has seen it either. That's a larger sample with no issues than your single system.

So perhaps you should take Corsair Calico Jack's suggestion to heart and look and see if there's something conflicting on your system rather than coming in here like Chicken Little.
Fair enough, i over egged it. Happened to me and assumed, ..but it was just a warning, with good intent in mind.

Pardon me for getting it wrong.

However personally my vengence RGB is stuck on red. I can't update icue without the boot device blue screen. Not sure where to head with this,
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-10-2019, 12:47 PM
ifixit ifixit is offline
MS OEM Royalty Engineer
ifixit's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: On Planet Hell
Posts: 20
POST ID # = 993503
ifixit Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dayglorange View Post
Yeah, I just updated to the latest version as well, and had zero problems. I'm running a tower with at least a 4 year old if not more disc drive, and always running AV software - why would you ever connect a computer to the internet and NOT have AV?! Either way, I have had troubles with iCUE in the past but this update was probably the smoothest so far.
Never used an AV, never had a virus. don't open attachments in email from unknown sources, or that look suspicious. Don't go to porn sites. avoid dodgy wed sites. Use common sense.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-10-2019, 12:49 PM
ifixit ifixit is offline
MS OEM Royalty Engineer
ifixit's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: On Planet Hell
Posts: 20
POST ID # = 993504
ifixit Reputation: 10
Default

I'll try updating one more time.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-10-2019, 12:56 PM
ifixit ifixit is offline
MS OEM Royalty Engineer
ifixit's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: On Planet Hell
Posts: 20
POST ID # = 993506
ifixit Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ifixit View Post
I'll try updating one more time.
Well this time i had gone back to 3.10 turned off enable SDK,

updated without a hitch. :)

Still my rams stuck on red . I was updating in the hope it would come back to life. It's also not detecting in Icue
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.