The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-29-2018, 12:07 AM
Cruzatte Cruzatte is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 961268
Cruzatte Reputation: 10
Default H150i PRO — Backplate nowhere close to flush

I’ve read a bunch of folks talking about loose backplates on other Corsair AIO models, but I haven’t seen any issues on the H150i Pro.

I’m installing on an Asus Maximus X Code, and there are at least a couple millimeters of play. This is... disappointing!

Anyone seen this on a H150i? And what’s the actual correct advice — washer, or install pump and see what happens?

Just mechanically speaking, I don’t see how installing the pump on these standoff’s in their current state will firm anything up, since the install will still be dependent on the loose backplate frame.

Thanks for any of your input!
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 06-29-2018, 07:29 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,238
POST ID # = 961300
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

Well, make sure you have everything turned the right direction, 115x standoffs, and then screw it down. It won't be tight until then. I have the same board and the same bracket and did not have issues with the install. I was expecting trouble too, having been spoiled by 2011 socket for a while. Also, remember the backplate is not a vice. It is a way to distribute weight over a larger surface area. Focus on the getting the thumbscrews cleaning inserted and then tightened. Don't over do it. This can be a bit frustrating because it's not that easy to tell a slightly loose backplate from the normal temp behavior on a 8700K with the MCE enabled and other Asus default features.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 06-29-2018, 10:11 AM
Cruzatte Cruzatte is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 961331
Cruzatte Reputation: 10
Default

Here are 2 very short videos. I think i have the right standoffs (long threads on both sides for my 1151) and the right backplate alignment.

This can’t be right can it?


Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 06-29-2018, 10:49 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,238
POST ID # = 961339
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

Have you tightened the thumbscrews down yet? Remember, you are not bolting it to the motherboard. It is more like hanging a picture. When you tighten the thumbscrews down, the play should disappear. You probably want a hand on both sides the first time around. It still will not survive brute force attacks. I don't know why Intel doesn't specify all sockets are more secure like 2011/3 ($$$), but this is pretty much how it is.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 06-29-2018, 10:49 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,526
POST ID # = 961340
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Yes, that's right. It should be flush when you tighten down the cooler.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 04-07-2019, 10:06 PM
ninja2k20 ninja2k20 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1000717
ninja2k20 Reputation: 10
Default

I'm having the same exact issue after just mounting my backplate down and screw in the thumb screws until completely tightened. I may be using the same board and maybe too thin?
Please let me know what u did as now I'm stuck middle of build.
What I can do and use 2 black washers in kit not used and put them above board to compress the screw into. The plate will tighten to board then. I have yet to put the pump on to see if contact will be made to CPU but still looks like it will.

I'm using 399 msi godlike mb and 9900k
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 04-07-2019, 10:19 PM
Johnny_B500 Johnny_B500 is offline
Registered User
Johnny_B500's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 116
POST ID # = 1000718
Johnny_B500 Reputation: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ninja2k20 View Post
I'm having the same exact issue after just mounting my backplate down and screw in the thumb screws until completely tightened. I may be using the same board and maybe too thin?
Please let me know what u did as now I'm stuck middle of build.
What I can do and use 2 black washers in kit not used and put them above board to compress the screw into. The plate will tighten to board then. I have yet to put the pump on to see if contact will be made to CPU but still looks like it will.

I'm using 399 msi godlike mb and 9900k
The back plate is supposed to be loose by design. It should tighten up when you install the pump.
__________________
570X Mirror Black

Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 04-07-2019, 10:40 PM
ninja2k20 ninja2k20 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1000720
ninja2k20 Reputation: 10
Default

Yup it did... after bunch of Google reading (and seeing this has been in existence for years) either people mounted the thumbscrews to tighten or used rubber washers from HD vibration mounts. I think corsair just adding that to the manual would've quickly let us know.

Thank you
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 07-12-2019, 11:29 AM
Karalambos Karalambos is offline
Registered User
Karalambos's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 1010950
Karalambos Reputation: 10
Default

Its missing that rubber thing preinstalled for Intel cooler, if you read the manual it should be the original bracket from Intel stock cooler i think.. check the manual..

we are missing a bracket that dont come with asus motherboard.. or at least for me its like that.. cant see how it would tighten the cooler if the backbracket plays 2 or 3 mm
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 07-12-2019, 12:08 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,526
POST ID # = 1010957
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

A) Brackets don't come with your motherboard.
B) Just install the pump. It tightens up. (Source: I've installed 3 Platinum, 2 Pro and several V2 coolers. They've ALL tightened up.)
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.